I've been Really Busy. No, really.
Friday, Mar. 19, 2004 @ 3:27 p.m.

So I was planning on writing a big happy Friday edition journal entry, but I've actually been busy today. Things I've been busy doing at work:

- Applying for a job using an incredibly complex bitch of an online job application system that, when you think you're almost done, (what with the filling out an online application AND answering random personal questions AND attaching a resume AND attaching a cover letter) throws four surprise! final essay questions at you that are hilarious because they're something along the lines of: 1) Are you sure you're qualified for this job? 2) Are you really, really sure? 3) You're not wasting our time here, are you? 4) You're qualified for real, right? Lord above.

- Updating my running grocery list that I keep on my hard drive. Yeah, I keep a typed grocery list on my hard drive and print it out every week. Shut up, man. You probably think you can keep it all in your head, don't you, hot shot. Right, and then you come home with milk, gummi worms and bullion cubes and wonder what happened. Ha.

- Obsessively checking the clock and wondering what my odds are of getting out of here on time today. Boss lady is back in town and she has a nasty habit of calling people into meetings at 4:45 on Friday afternoon. Her timetable has no meaning in the real world and I don't think she gives a shit that we might have, you know, plans and stuff.

- Obsessively checking the weather and hoping for a sunny weekend. Next Sunday is the first mountain bike race and I'm 98% sure I'm going to do it, assuming I get a good training ride in this weekend. I don't know why I do these races when losing is usually the outcome. Plus, there is nothing more horrible than the starting line.

You stand there, waiting waiting waiting for the Go and you feel like you're going to vomit and your knees have sort of liquefied and you don't know if they're going to work at all. Then you get the GO and you try to not go out too hard but how can you not? So you're going too hard and you're hyperventilating and you think your heart is going to burst out of your chest and damn these women are fast and then you hit the woods and it's all crazy. Ten minutes later you're more or less alone (if you're me and, uh, last) and you're just riding your bike in the woods and trying to breathe it's okay. Or something like that.

- Trying to figure out how to wrap this up so it doesn't seem like yet another one of my stupid nonsensical lists, except it is. Just to make it official, here are two things that have recently amused me:

- The Darkness. Have you seen the video for "I Believe In A Thing Call Love"? Holy crazy crap. Most hilarious ever. What other video contains a live plushie towel thing, a skinny snaggle-tooth guy in a jumpsuit, and a fierce battle with a giant crab-thing? Only The Darkness. And here's the thing- I actually really like the song. I want to hear the rest of the album and if it's all that good I'm buying it, man.

Wonderfalls. Did anyone watch the pilot episode last night? This is officially my new favorite show which means Fox Assing Network is guaranteed to cancel it within the next month. Mark my words. Those bastards hate me and don't want me to have any quality programming. Anyway, it was surprisingly clever and funny and actually made me laugh out loud. Also? A talking monkey sculpture and smushed-face wax lion who sang "Ragtime Gal" in the manner of Michigan J. Frog. Loved it. There's a new episode on tonight so if you have no life (like me!) you should watch it.

Whee, that is all. Have a good weekend, monkeys!

8 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com