IH8THAT
Monday, Jul. 31, 2006 @ 3:07 p.m.

The coffee table was so exciting, wasn't it? Scintillating, even.

So, here's the part where I hang my head in shame and admit that we've given in. Kate and I have bowed to the pressure and we've created a MySpace page for Keen Designs. We're hip and down with what the kids want today! Check us out: http://www.myspace.com/keendesigns

We've already gotten messages from one person who wants us to attend her sex toys party and a guy who I think wants to date Keen Designs. Goodness.

You can be our friend if you want (and if your page doesn't have stupid flashy graphics and music that plays automatically, forcing me to keep the sound turned off on my work computer. That annoys me.)

You know what else annoys me? Pretty much everything, obviously, but also the whole vanity license plate thing. It just bugs the crap out of me, mostly because the people who have vanity plates are so freaking uncreative. Please, Virginia! TELL ME MORE ABOUT YOU IN SEVEN SPACES OR LESS.

Like, you went to VMI? In 1975? THAT IS FACINATING. TELL ME MORE. (School affinity is something else I don't understand, but that's another rant for another day.) My favorite stupid plate is one I saw the other day, which incorporated the stupid new heart logo that you can get now: RFIVEKDS.

I say: duh. You have five kids? That is AMAZING and unlike anything anyone else has ever done. You love them? WELL THAT'S GREAT. But, uh, isn't that what you're supposed to do? Why the bragging? Maybe it's a parent thing, but I don't know. The grandparents are even worse. My personal super crazy favorite example of this was the white conversion van I saw last weekend - it was airbrushed on the back with a huge quote that read: Grandchildren Are What Makes the World Go Around (or something like that) and it had, no shit, an airbrushed portrait of all eight of their grandchildren. Wow. Like, WOW. I stopped in my tracks and cursed my cell phone for not having a camera.

I really, really, really love the people who's license plate is their website address and they've manually Sharpied in a dot so you're not confused by the difference between DORK.COM and DORKCOM. Haha. Loser.

I also hate most bumper stickers. Most. I'm always amazed at the number of folks who still drive around with Bush/Cheney stickers because even if I'd been dumb enough to vote for him two or six years ago I'd certainly be fully ashamed of myself by now, you know? Also, the American flag and ribbon magnets are a trend that needs to die. Please.

I will admit to having a "Republicans for Voldemort" sticker on the Nova for a while, which sent out two clear messages:

1. I heartily disapprove of the current administration!
2. I am a nerd. A big, big nerd.

You heard it here first, kids. Have a good week!

5 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com