This week dragged past me so slowly
Wednesday, Jun. 28, 2006 @ 3:42 p.m.

I am so glad it's not yesterday anymore. Yesterday can kiss my butt. It wasn't one big thing that sucked, more a collection of tiny things that conspired to make my day blow, coupled with the feeling that I was losing my usual ability to cope with the million little bits of suck.

Things that made yesterday suck:

- waking up to Day Three of torrential rain
- Canceled mountain bike ride (score two for the rain)
- Found out a store that carries our stuff is going out of business
- Got ridiculously wet due to the hedge spot*
- Had an unsatisfactory lunch
- Irrational stabby anger caused by paper-ripping noises
- The library's media center closes at 5pm and I showed up at 5:10pm
- Ominous sloshing noise coming from the rear of my car
- Crazed inner-monologue all day long
- Bad mail
- Dawning realization that after 21 years of menstruation I STILL can't figure out I'm all PMSy until I'm ready to go on a rampage with a pointy fork.
- Sun setting realization that I'm a stone cold idiot.

Wow, I'm a PMS idiot, for real, but often I'm just plain dumb and have nothing to blame it on. It's staggering to me the number of times I've been stupid and even as it's happening and I'm recognizing it I don't stop. Examples:

My parking brake. I often have to park on an incline and I use my parking brake because who wants their car rolling into another car? I use it nearly every day and almost every day I back out of the spot and wonder why my car feels so sluggish. Oh, right.

Parking in the hedge spot*. In the same slanty parking lot there's one spot in the corner that's flanked by large overgrown hedges that the grounds-keeping guys seem to have forgotten about. I'll park there sometimes because I don't mind brushing by a bit of greenery on a good day. Yesterday, if you'll remember, was not a good day. I got back from picking up lunch and the only spot left was the hedge spot, so I parked there. Remember the torrential rain? Yeah.

I had to figure out how to squeeze out of the car with my unbrella, purse, salad and iced tea without getting soaking wet from the soggy-ass greenery. Did I squeeze myself out of the car and walk around to the other side to get my stuff? No, asshole, that would have been the sort-of-smart thing to do. (The really smart thing to do would have been to park ELSEWHERE, but we're beyond that.)

So no, I squooze out with my hands full and my umbrella flailing and wet greenery slapping me about the head and body and as I was doing it I wondered why I was doing it. My salad got upturned and I got really, really ridiculously wet. So freaking stupid.

I shouldn't go out in public. Last Sunday I went to the mall nail place to get a pedicure. It was a nice place and despite my vague discomfort at having someone bathe and tend to my feet, it wasn't a bad thing. The woman giving me the pedicure seemed very friendly until I fucked it all up by acting crazy.

Before polishing up my toes, she picked up my (embarrassingly grungy) flip flops and put them on my feet for me. I noticed as she was doing it that a bit of sticky paper was stuck to the bottom of one of them so I reached over and pulled it off. And stuck it in my pocket. What? Why did I just put a bit of shoe-trash in my pocket? Why? That was the look on the pedicurist's face as she slowly asked me if it was something I wanted to keep. I was panicking at this point and made things worse by jokingly stuttering that I wanted to save it for later. She didn't talk to me after that, but really, would you have? God, I'm such an idiot.

Good things which do not suck:

INTERNET DORK CAMP, PART TWO. Yay! I'm leaving on Friday and will report back next week. It's gonna be a good time, y'all.

6 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com