But I still love technology...
Friday, Mar. 03, 2006 @ 4:03 p.m.

It's been a big week people and we have a lot to cover.

The big-big news is my car situation. In that we bought one. For me. Surprisingly, the Nova did not die, though I should mention that it's not actually speaking to me right now. The Nova now sits in the driveway with hunched shoulders and a surly look on it's grill. The Nova really hates the new car and doesn't believe Kenny's assurance that we're just giving it a rest. I swear I caught it giving us the finger the other day.

Anyway, here's how it all went down:

I was in spinning class last week and was telling this woman I'm friendly with about my car and she was horrified. Simply horrified! Of course, when people are horrified by the Nova I have to continue with the gory details about how the radio only works when you jam the button in with a wedge of paper and how I once busted this woman picking at the peeling paint on the hood in a parking lot.

My friend was all "YOU NEED A CAR." Like, duh, lady! Then she said she had this car she needed to get rid of - it was just sitting there and nobody was driving it. She didn't seem to care about the money, she just wanted to sell it cheap to someone who needed it. At this point I was looking around for the cameras because who says stuff like that? The kicker: the car is a freaking '98 Toyota Avalon. It's a GROWNUP CAR. Holy crap, it seemed too good to be true which didn't stop me from getting my hopes up.

Then she started really trying to sell me: "It's full size and has airbags, air conditioning and a CD player, oh, and new tires!"

I was all "Lady? You had me at airbags."

People are always shocked when I mention the Nova's lack of airbags because they are accustomed to technology beyond 1988. I am not (which should be obvious if you remember back to our reaction to owning a dishwasher) so it's all refreshingly new and fantastic for me.

To get back to the story, last weekend we went to take a look and ended up taking it home for a ridiculously small amount of money. It's definitely a grownup car, I'll tell you what. People, it has built in cup holders! Power locks! KEYLESS ENTRY! I CAN UNLOCK IT WITHOUT TOUCHING IT. Shit, I love that! Also? When I press on the gas the car leaps forward like an unruly colt rather than balking and hesitating like a grumpy pony. Man, I do NOT miss the adrenalin rush brought on by wondering if the car will actually stall out halfway across the intersection, you know?

The other night I turned off the new car but left the lights on to see if it would warn me (unlike Nova McDeadbattery). People, the car didn't warn me, it turned the lights off for me. That is quality that only 1998 can bring. I am in love. There are a few downsides though. #1 - I can't find it in a parking lot because it beiges right in with every other car that looks like it (most of them) and #2 - my insanely excellent parallel parking skills have not been honed for full-size vehicles and are taking a beating. It's a little embarrassing that I'm afraid to park my own car.

Anyway, that's all I have time for right now. I will be back with more bitching right soon, I promise. Have a good weekend!

9 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com