The Best of What, Exactly?
Thursday, Feb. 02, 2006 @ 3:16 p.m.

Blessed by the best!

This is what I just overheard the mailroom guy say to someone, shortly afterwards, he took a long drink at the water fountain followed by his trademark "AHHHHHHHHH." Fucking hell, people.

Where do I start? For once, there's been a lot going on. I've actually been too busy to write instead of just being too boring, though that probably applies anyway.

Hyperthyroid would be a good name for a band.

We recently found out that our oldest kitty Zephyr has hyperthyroid. This was really upsetting because I think she'd had it for a good year and we didn't notice. I mean, three of the big symptoms are "hyperactivity", "eats voraciously" and "pukes a lot." All of these symptoms are fairly typical descriptors of Zephyr from the day she was freaking born. How were we supposed to know?

Anyway, our options were a) a freakish radiation treatment followed by a week's isolation (radio! active! kitty!) which costs a mere THOUSAND DOLLARS or b) pills, pills, pills for life. We chose pills because Zephyr would never stand for a week of isolation in a strange place and she also doesn't have a job, therefore does not have a thousand dollars. We didn't want the choice of treatment to be about the money, but it really kind of is. So instead, we have been dutifully grinding up pills into tiny servings of simply disgusting wet cat food. Z-cat is in heaven because holy crap! Wet fooooood! For meeee! Hopefully her heart will stop racing soon and she'll be super-mellow kitty at last. We shall see.

Press! Sorta!

The most recent excitement is that Keen got its first little bit of press! We were featured with other local designers (including her. You know who I mean) in a local publication and it was a very nice little paragraph until I got to our website address which was...wrong. I was all happy that they spelled both our names right and then that. I mean, why? Why baby jesus? I immediately purchased the incorrect domain but it'll take a day for it to go live. Meanwhile, if anyone tries keen-design.net, well, good luck with that. I did feel marginally better when I checked another designer�s site to be greeted with "Welcome to the summer!" Ha, update much?

What's been annoying the living crap out of me?

Aren't you dying to know after going days and days without an inkling? Well, see, there's this girl at my gym. She's apparently under the impression that weights class is a competitive event. She also can't count and has no rhythm. Basically, if we're doing, say, a bicep curl on a slow three count - lift...two...three...down...two...three her curl is more like lifttwothreedowntwothee...wait. Like, she does her rep at hyper speed and then waits at the bottom of the move for the rest of us to catch up. She wins! Every time! If we're doing squats she's bouncing up and down like a freaking jack-in-the-box. It hurts me to watch.

Bouncy is annoying as all hell, mainly because she's always set up right next to me (she really wants my spot but we'll get to that in a minute) so I can't keep her out of my line of sight. Every time the instructor says "Slow down, feel the muscle contracting!" I want to lean over and hiss "She's talking to youuuuu."

So yeah, in her weirdly competitive way (hey, it takes one to know one) she also seems dead set on stealing my usual spot. This doesn't please me but aside from nailing a name plaque into the floor, I can't do much about it. A week or so ago she practically knocked me over to get to the spot first, but I foiled her and snagged it anyway so she set up right next to me. For the love of Christ, why?

Anyway, halfway through class the instructor asked us to clear the area around our step so we could do side lunges (ow). I started moving my stuff out of the way but apparently I didn't move fast enough because when I looked up I saw Bouncy McRhythm moving my water bottle away with her foot. Now, I'm not Kimora but I will cut a bitch for something like that. Okay, not really, but I'll think it in my head. Who does that? Why not just pick it up? Or, I don't know, ASK ME TO MOVE IT? Freak is totally on my list.

Wanna see what I got? Wanna? Huh?

I got this:

Isn't it purty? Isn't it shiny? It might not make me faster in races but it sure will be more comfortable. I feel like I'm cheating on my old faithful hardtail. Aw.

One final note : I have finally, finally updated my links section! Woo! Go look. I would also please ask you to check out my friend Marianne's gorgeous new food blog: The Unemployed Cook
She makes my stint at unemployment look so unproductive! All I did was work out a lot and sell shit on eBay. Her photos look like something from a magazine. Tasty!

2 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com