Kids today, I swear.
Friday, Oct. 28, 2005 @ 4:09 p.m.

Okay, you remember how yesterday I promised to give a run-down on the events Kate and I worked a few weeks ago? And how there was photo documentation? Yeah. The first event was another uneventful "2nd Friday" in which we spent the two hours wishing we were anywhere else. The second event on Saturday night was the kicker. It was majestically absurd and all kinds of terrible - an artist collective of performers, dancers, poetry and visual arts.

Oh yes. There was a comedian. And belly dancers. And a drag lip-sync performance. And some angry poetry reading. And lots and lots of bad (and some decent) art. I know, I sound really judgey, but I went to art school and was fed this exact brand of deadly serious sincerity about one's craft. It was enough to last me a lifetime. I just don't have the patience for it anymore so I have to make fun of it.

Kate and I both dressed up in our own precious version of edgy because it seemed like that kind of crowd. We had no idea nerdy we actually were. Like, I wore pointy boots, fancy jeans and a corset top. Daring, for me. Hahahaha. Yeah, I'm old. There was a girl there with corset piercings, people. You'll see for yourself soon enough.

Aside from edgy outfits, there was also the most incredible collection of What Not To Wear I've ever seen under one roof, not counting the outlet mall. Clothing that doesn't fit was no match for this bunch! Doesn't fit? Doesn't matter! Goth and dark and ill-fitting? Perfect.

The event was in a club and before it started there was, um, reveling in the alley beside it in the form of fire-eaters and dancing hippie types and glitter thrown from the window. We stayed inside and sucked down the Second-hand Smoke of Misspent Youth. And oh, I have to tell you, the true show was the crowd itself.

And oh, what a crowd. I had a very strange conversation with a man who first took my photo and then told me he was a diesel mechanic. Oooohkay. That Guy was there (the one I mentioned yesterday), wearing a lounge coat and running around looking pissed off and self-important. I have no idea what his skill was, but he managed to exude asshole through and through. There were people pierced within and inch of their lives standing next to bland middle age couples. There were arty types and drag queens. Hipsters and piercing junkies. Goth kids and gay men. It was grand.

And now, evidence:

We made fun of this girl's backpack for way longer than was appropriate:

Okay, see that guy on the far right of that photo?

I had the following exchange with him:

Dumbass: yo, you sell belly rings?
Me: No.
Dumbass: reeeally? where are they?
Me: NO. WE DON�T HAVE BELLY RINGS.
Dumbass: oh. what do you have?
Me: Earrings. And necklaces.
Dumbass: oh. which ones are the earrings?
Me: These are earrings right here.
Dumbass: ohhh. Are these also earrings?
Me: No, those are necklaces.
Dumbass: oh okay, thanks.
Me: the fuck?

The shiniest drag queen ever:

Gah! This is the tiny girl with corset piercings. Sorry the picture sucks. She didn't look a day over 16 and was wearing stripper heels, fishnets, a mini skirt and a tiny tank top with the sides cut out This was so you could see her piercings on either side. Oh my God?

This is our display:

We did actually sell some stuff and got a lot of nice comments. One pair of earrings we sold was to a guy who was pierced everywhere you could possibly pierce yourself. Like, he'd run out of ear and nose space and just started piercing his cheeks and shit. He had loooong dreadlocks that were all decorated and was wearing a ton of jewelry, including big silver claw things on his fingers. He bought a very demure and simple pair of pale blue drop earrings. It pretty much made my night.

Have a good Halloween weekend, my pets!

4 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com