I Need Wings.
Monday, Mar. 21, 2005 @ 4:15 p.m.

Oh mail guy, why don't you just shut the hell up. He's walking around in the hall saying "Good morning! I sure wish it was Frihday, though!" Dude, shut urrrrp. He's such a clich�.

Anyway, here it is Monday and I haven't updated in approximately 80 billion days. It's not because I've been busy or anything, just that I've been boring as all hell. The usual thing. The average day goes like this:

-snooze button
-snooze button
-snoooooze button
-breakfast
-shower
-dawdling
-rushing
-work
-work
-lunch
-work
-road rage
-gym
-home
-dinner
-drooling in front of the television
-bed

See, now every time you think "why doesn't that bitch update already?" just read that little list and you'll be all "Oh, gotcha." However! I do have one little announcement to make: my sweet, sweet little car turned 160,000 miles and I SAW IT HAPPEN. I was driving home from the gym the other night and glanced at the mileage thingy which read 159,999. Holy shit! I drove for the next mile carefully watching the tenths or whatever roll over and finally! All those zeroes flipped up. I felt like the Nova had won the lottery or something and did a little car dance right then and there in it's honor. Aww, good little car.

**********

This past weekend was pretty good, as the weather had finally decided to cooperate and gave us two sunny and warmish days in a row. BIKES. Yes. On Saturday I drove out to Ashland (where, when the speed limit is 25, the elderly locals take it literally and drive 24, just to be on the safe side, doncha know) and participated in a women-only ride, which didn't explain the four guys who tagged along in our group, but whatever. I was razoring the hairpin turns and they, like, weren't.

When I arrived I was torn on whether to join the intermediate or advanced group. I talked to the leader of the advanced group and she looked me right in the eye and say very soothingly that she wasn't going to go really fast, that she was just as out of condition as everyone else. Then we headed for the trail and she took off like a BAT OUT OF HELL. Oh, I should've known. I hung on for dear life and managed to keep up pretty well. I had all four guys behind me (hi, women's ride but whatever) which adds some pressure. It ended up being quite a lot of fun, once I'd swallowed that lung back down. The thing about a fast ride is that you find yourself doing things you might otherwise, you know, NOT, because you're so worried about getting dropped. It helped my confidence though and I felt I did pretty well.

On Sunday I went with the usual gang for our weekly ride and I was dragging, thanks to my desperate scramble from the day before. When we hit the first hill climb I felt like my bike was sinking into the ground and it was such an effort to even turn over the pedals while I watched everyone else prance up the hill like nimble little mountain goats. Bastard goats. Also not helping - my bike wouldn't shift into my small chain ring. Wah. At one point I had a small tantrum and may or may not have kicked my bike. However! Kenny got himself a shiny new steed (yay!) so my little girl will be getting some lovely upgrades from his old bike.

Hill climbing and tantrums aside, I decided to take advantage of my newly built up confidence from the day before and tried two new log obstacles that I'd been avoiding. Both were pretty big and had downhill descents on the other side. (Meaning the landing side is much steeper and goes downhill.) The first one was okay, though I hit the brakes a bit on the way down and my back wheel lifted a bit. I corrected it and made it over. Ah, but the second one! It was a huge pile of logs surrounding a fallen tree trunk and the descent side was a steep plank ramp, similar to this, but made with planks, not sticks:

Anyway, I was last in line and the other woman on the ride yelled back "This one's much easier than the last!" With those fatal words, I got up and over just fine but when I hit the ramp I just sort of rolled off the side of it and did a lovely superman move right over the handle bars as my bike sailed off the edge. It was beautiful. Seriously, if I'm going to fall off my bike, I at least want it to look cool. Kenny's advice afterwards was "You really want to go straight on the ramp." Straight? For real? That's really helpful, thanks honey.

I'm convinced that my bike was not amused at being kicked earlier and decided to remind me who was really running the show. I apologized to it, but I'm pretty sure my bike is still not speaking to me. Hmph. Perhaps a shiny new bottle of Pedro's Liquid X will change her mind?

8 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com