Mmmmm....votey.
Tuesday, Nov. 02, 2004 @ 1:50 p.m.

So, yeah. The voting entry. Kenny decided we should get up at SIX AM IN THE MORNING so we could get to the polls at SIX THIRTY AM IN THE MORNING and beat the crowd. Well, Goddamn if the crowd wasn't already there waiting for us. There was a long line right out the door and we joined in gladly. It was kind of a nice thing - everyone in line was good-natured and chatty, happy to be finally doing something about the state of things. I mean, we've been listening and talking and maybe complaining for months and finally we have our say. I love being part of it.

As we stood in line we watched with envy the trickle of be-stickered voters leaving, all glowy with post-voting good-will. It does feel good to vote and I'm glad I started my day out by exercising my rights. Hell, women have only had the vote for 85 years. Can you believe that? It seems so completely outrageous that there are people alive today who remember (maybe) a time when women had no voice. That sucks. Thanks to all the suffragettes who fought the good fight. That was excellent of you guys and I appreciate it.

So, how do you vote? In my part of Virginia we still use the old-fashioned voting booths with the big red lever and curtain and the little black levers to indicate each vote. I love them - so antique and clunky. I also love the physical-ness of them - the finality of turning the red lever with a CHUNK. You feel like you DID something (well, except that mine got jammed and the poll guy had to help me). You don't get that with a touch-screen or a Sharpie. Anyway, I'm completely convinced that the Diebold machines are rigged, so screw them. I love the janky old system. Ha, how very southern of me.

Vote, kittens! Do it!

3 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com