It's all pants.
Tuesday, Jun. 15, 2004 @ 11:03 p.m.

Oh my heck, what have I been doing with my time? Well, here's the thing. Are you sitting down? Okay. The thing is, I really like my job and would feel guilty using paid time to write a journal entry. I know. Did you just throw up a little bit in your mouth? But really, I do, I like my job. It's quite the thing. On Sunday afternoon I had a funny feeling (instead of the usual Work Dread) and when I examined the feeling closer I realized it was happiness. What the hell is that? Right on.

So, updates:

Over the weekend I did this race and it was awesome. I'd been really nervous about it for no good reason except that the course is really, really technical (meaning lots of logs, rocks, hill climbs and sketchy steep downhill sections). It rained a lot the night before so it was really muddy in places, but because I ride there all the time I knew exactly when to ride, when to walk and what to avoid. I ended up coming in 5th place overall (out of 13 women) and 2nd place in my age division! Kenny came in fourth place in his division, which is great stuff.

The race was part of the Xterra events so the newspaper published the top 10 scores in the sports section on Sunday. Wait, correction, the piece of shit newspaper published the men's top 10 scores. I was livid and sent a rather pointed email about it. What is it, 1950? I swear to God.

(End of Sporty Talk)

Yesterday I took a trip to Washington DC for a training seminar, which involved taking the 6 am train. Yes, the train that leaves at 6 am. Meaning, I had to get up at 4:30am which should be against the law. Wildly, there was a crowd already waiting when I got there. Who are these people? Do they take the 6 freaking am train every day? That's no way to live.

Anyway, the going up to DC part was uneventful and the seminar was fine. (Except for me having the drooling sleepy nods in the middle of class. I eventually got up and went to the bathroom so I could jump up and down and wake myself up. Shameful.)

The way home? Not so fast there, little lady. I got to Union Station with plenty of time to spare to catch the 5:50pm train home. I walked around and looked at the pointless shops and sniggered at the unbelievable outfits that walked by. (FYI: "whorish" is the look to go for when hanging out in a train station food court/mall.) Then I glanced at the Departures sign and noticed that every damn train said "delay" next to it. Oh no.

I waited a while and when nothing changed I went to stand in line with the other fools to find out what was going on. A very harassed Amtrak employee was explaining the situation over and over again loudly and simplistically, as if to a non-English-speaking child. When I was three people down the line, this is what I heard: "A CAR fell off a BRIDGE and landed on the TRACKS. No trains can MOVE until the get the CAR off the TRACKS. There may be a FATALITY in which case a CORONER will have to be CALLED. The TRAINS are delayed INDEFINITELY because they have to MOVE THE CAR OFF THE TRACKS FIRST."

Oh Jesus Christ. I found out later that this is what actually happened. Really? That's it? So why did it take two hours to push a car off the tracks? Anyway, I didn't get home until nearly 10:00pm, which makes for a mighty long day. I should be in bed right now, as it happens.

Church Signs:

The three most depressing words on earth to a kid: Vacation. Bible. School. Have a good summer, suckers.

The horror. I saw a hand-painted sign outside of a church advertising an event that featured LINE-DANCING CLOWNS and Good Food! Yikes? I don't even know what to do with that so I'm just going to back away slowly and make no sound. Good night, monkeys!

2 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com