Making My Monkey Crazy (perhaps again)
Thursday, Feb. 05, 2004 @ 10:28 p.m.

A little workplace complaining, if you don't mind:

It's apparently Idiot Day for the State-I-Don't-Live-In business development 800 phone line and online chat.

One chat I had today:

Me: Hello, Chat Customer. How may I help you?
Chat Customer: you gave the number to call the county
Chat Customer: is always busy
Me: The number for the Clerk of the Circuit Court?
Chat Customer: you gave it to me and is always busy
Me: Was it for the Clerk of the Circuit Court?
Chat Customer: and i went to office yesterday and they told me that i have to get an attorney
Me: You went to the Clerk's Office?
Chat Customer: yes
Me: Well, if they said you need an attorney, then that might be best.
Chat Customer: ok

Lord, people. I'm not some sort of magic business genie. Really, if the Clerk of the Circuit Court told you to get a lawyer, why would you assume the chat support person would have a better idea?

Then I had some lady call the 800 number (which is for the Department of Business not the Department of Everything) and ask if I knew the hours the zoo would be open in June, specifically, June 13th. Dude, call the zoo? And ask? I looked up the number and gave it to her and she complained because I didn't give her an 800 number. For the love of God, lady.

Ha, the Fish Lady cracks me up. She just came up to my cube, all serious, and said "On the 10th, I'm going to be out of the office after 1pm and should be back by 4:45pm, if you want to make a note about it on your calendar. Also, tomorrow, I'm leaving at 1:45pm." Then she paused and looked at me like, "Aren't you going to write it down?" I looked back at her blandly and said okay. And then went back to what I was doing. Okay, first of all? I'm not her secretary and second of all, I DON'T CARE.

The newest temp is very very very annoying. She's being groomed to take over the job I was originally hired to do (sucker!) and she is the biggest ass kisser ever. She and the boss both have the same breed of small dog and they just bonded. Ick. She's been helping me with a fairly complex project and won't shut up about how hard it is and how she's not used to doing such tedious work.

She reminds me of that controversial talking Barbie with her upbeat complaints: "math is HARD!" I agree, math is HARD, but it's also HARD to listen to this sort of complainy intonation with every statement: "This is CHALLENGING!" "This is CONFUSING!" "This is HARD!" She is also a fan of the Dramatic Deep Sigh. What with the combined deep sighs, ass-kissing, and whiny, yet upbeat proclamations of challenge, I just want to whap her across the face with a rolled-up newspaper. Also, she's wearing a black skirt and tan loafers. Meow.

Okay, I'm done now. Really, that's all I have. Work has at least been sort of interesting lately, what with people quitting and being disgruntled. I've managed to cultivate a fine air of "I don't care" and my boss seems to respond well to it. Or maybe she's just afraid I'll quit and leave the phones a-ringing? Heh.

**********

Otherwise, it's been pretty dull last 7-8 days since my last update. Here are the highlights:

- got a cold
- skipped the gym for a week
- watched a LOT of television
- snorted Zicam (all bow to the God of Zicam!) and got better really quickly
- returned to the gym and promptly pulled both hip flexor muscles
- tried to take a kickboxing class anyway and had to skulk out halfway through
- in outdated news, was completely incredulous at the amount of press Janet Jackson's right boob received
- in related news, found it hilarious at Pepsi anger at having it's advertising thunder stolen by said boob
- still maintain that football is the most boring sport ever. Even more boring than that weird Canadian sport involving kitchen brooms and giant pucks on ice.

PS. If you�re wondering why I haven�t updated my book list in a while (and I know you�re not, because who the hell reads my book list?) it�s because I�m still reading the Lord of the Rings. I�m halfway there. Half. Way. There.

1 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com