All Over The Shop.
Friday, Jan. 09, 2004 @ 10:41 p.m.

Just a quick note: You guys rule. Thank you so much for making me realize that I'm not some over-sensitive fool who can't hack a desk job. My boss is crazy and it's not my fault. I shall begin looking for a job immediately, though it took me a year to find this one. Also, I'm in contact with my old boss (ahem, the one who laid me off two years ago) who may be hiring again in a month or so. I'm not counting on anything, but he seemed really happy to hear from me and I loved working for him before the whole laying-off thing. And now, just for being a wonderful group of readers and friends who give freely of needed advice, I give you a snowy-day-damn-my-boss-is-crazy story:

Before leaving at noon today, my boss sent out a group email telling us we could leave at 3pm if we want because it's snowing and will probably freeze over and get slick. There were hundreds of car accidents today because of the weather (and don't give me that "oh, southerners don't know how to drive in the snow" because, Goddammit, we know that. We get snow, like, twice a year. How do you practice for it? Anyway.)

So, around 2pm, she calls me from her cell phone to see who's leaving and gets snitty when I mentioned I was thinking about it. Because, apparently, answering the phones makes me exempt for leaving? When I expressed concern about the bridge freezing she barked "well, if you're going to want to leave early every time it's cold outside, that's not going to work." What the fuck? Then she said she just knew co-worker X would leave early, just to "take advantage of the situation." The situation? You mean the situation YOU CREATED?

I just sat there shaking with anger, willing myself not to quit on the spot. Have mortgage. Cannot quit. Have mortgage. Cannot quit. Have mortgage. Cannot quit.

PS. In an effort to cheer me up, my sister sent me a link to this Pugtastic item:

Isn't it perfect? God knows I need it. I really think it's the perfect gift for me. The. Perfect. Gift. And oh my God, look at this.

PPS. For the love of God, do not rent "Alex and Emma" even if the only other choice is �Gigli�.

7 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com