DO YOU HAVE CHRISTMAS IN FRANCE?
Sunday, Dec. 21, 2003 @ 10:22 p.m.

Hi there. Just wanted to let you all know I'm still alive and all. I've just been busy as hell with pre-baby-Jesus's-birthday-but-actually-a-pagan-holiday-though-for-me-it's-really-mostly-a-secular-thing celebration preparations. On Christmas Eve (note to Noah: This Wednesday night. Before Christmas. Eve of.) Kenny and I are having the whole family over. We decided to do this in a fit of new house insanity and now we're having a real, honest-to-gosh party or something. Get down get down. Get down get down.

In preparation, I bought a bunch of food and stuff. The list looks like this:

-cheese

-cheese

-cheese

-cheese

-wine

-cheese

-Pomegranate

-cheese

Seriously, I didn't mean to buy so much cheese, it just happened. There's quite a variety and I'm terrible at gauging how much cheese is needed for 12ish people, so I just kept buying it. Also, I bought a pomegranate, for decorative purposes, you understand.

I spent all of yesterday making a vast variety of candy and baked goods, aided by my dad and mostly by Kate, who is much better at these things than I am. The first question out of her mouth:

"Did you take the butter out to soften?"

Me: "Uhhhhgggglargh?"

A baker I not. However despite my stupitude, we made heaps of sugar and fat-laden goodness which I'm going to vigorously foist off on my loved ones as gifts. I thought about taking some into the office to share with my co-workers, but really, no.

Work. The micro-managing insanity continues. I will probably spew at length about it later in the week, but right this second it's still Sunday and I cannot waste precious free time thinking about the hell portal I work in.

Back to Christmas crap. On Christmas Eve, TNT is showing A Christmas Story for twenty four hours straight. I love that shit. Love Jean Shepherd. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the film, so they're also going to have interviews with the actors, which should be interesting. I wonder if they interview Ian Petrella? What the hell happened to that kid? HE CAN'T PUT HIS ARMS DOWN.

A Christmas Story is a big favorite around here and I've loved it since I saw it in the theater. Yes, that's how freaking old I am, that I saw it in the theater. I had no idea what it was at the time, but my sister and mother wanted to go to some boring grown-up movie and A Christmas Story was the only kid movie playing at the same time. I went in having no expectations and came out knowing my mom and sister made the damn wrong choice. Suckers!

PS. If you haven't read the book and aren't familiar with Jean Shepherd, check out In God We Trust, All Others Pay Cash.

PPS. Did you know you can buy a Leg Lamp of your very own? Hot damn.

56 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com