An update for my Special Kittens.
Monday, Jul. 28, 2003 @ 10:29 p.m.

Hello kittens! I think the worst thing about the new incarnation of my temp job is my lack of time to update. Writing these journal entries gave me a daily project- something creative and fun to look forward to and now I only have the monotony of file after file to set up, you greedy house-owning bastards. (kidding! Sort of. No really, I'm kidding. Mostly.)

Anyway, I'm still plugging away and to those of you who are on my buddy list, I'm still reading all your entries, just mostly at night when I should be in bed (like now). I got dropped by another person whose list I was on, despite my blatant attempt to guilt you all into keeping me. Damn fickle, that's what you are. Don't drop me! I still sing and dance, just not as often! This trained monkey is tired! Throw me a peanut will you? Actually, can you just walk over and put it in my mouth? Wait, can you shell it first? Thank you. You rule.

God, I'm weird.

So anyway, I had a busy and odd weekend. It was full of good stuff to do, but also very weird and stressful for reasons that I'm not going into on a public Internet forum. Some things is private, man.

Saturday morning, I was woken up by Kenny who announced he'd been bitten by a spider, maybe a Brown Recluse, and was going to Patient First. He showed me his arm which had a white bump on it, surrounded by a huge red circle.

He left and I looked up Brown Recluse bites while eating my cereal. Don't ever do this. Want to know why? Check this site out, but not when you're eating. I almost horked up my Shredded Wheat. I said Goddamn.

PS. Kenny was not, as it turns out, bitten by a Brown Recluse, but whatever kind of spider did bite him definitely left a mark, along with body aches and a fever. Poor Kenny! It's all my fault for making him ride the trails in front of me (so he has to ride through all the spider webs, thus incurring the wrath of many, many spiders. They hate us).

Saturday afternoon, I went to the first annual Richmond Vegetarian Festival, which my friend Noah helped to organize. He also made this totally cute poster for it. He's mad talented. Anyway, I wasn't sure what to expect from the festival, but it was a roaring success and had a huge turnout. Go Richmond! I didn't know you had it in you. I think a lot of people came out of curiosity and were pleasantly surprised by the amazing food. I sat and ate at a table with two old ladies who were commenting on all the little punk rock and straight edge kids.

"Look, look at that one. Those boots! I bet those are heavy."

"I'll bet your right. Do you see that one over there? Her knapsack is all pointy and has spikes."

Hee. They were cracking me up. It was a good time and I'm glad it did well.

Saturday night, we went to a housewarming party held by one of Kenny's bike buddies and his wife. Very nice people, very beautiful house full of beautiful things. We gawked in awe at the multiple dishes of cashews! The many kinds of drink! The massive spread of yummy food! This is apparently how adult people with good incomes live. We had a good time, stuffed our pockets full of cashews, and then returned home to our sagging futon couch and cat-puked-on Ikea rug. Ah, home.

***************

Hi there, are you bored yet? I haven't even gotten to Sunday!

On Sunday, my sister and I drove to Ikea, where she'd not been since the 80's. I told her she was going to get herself in trouble and didn't even know it yet.

I was right. Ikea worked it's magic like never before. Everything is so colorful and well designed! And cheap! So cheap! I was fairly restrained and only bought the essentials: cheap Teflon-y pans, cheap roman blinds, cheap and colorful shower curtain and cheap food containers. I refrained from buying a cheap lamp that seemed like a good deal, until I realized it only took $4.00 light bulbs the likes of which you can't buy anywhere but Ikea. Bastards.

Claudia, who just moved to a new house, bought all kind of great stuff and got an amazing amount for her money. We've already planned trip #2 to get stuff that wouldn't fit in the car this time. I love you, Ikea.

Okay, it's my bedtime now. My contact lenses are completely dried to my eyeballs and I need to floss and stuff. Good night! Or, uh, good morning if you're reading this on Tuesday.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com