I Crush, Therefore I Am.
Friday, Jun. 27, 2003 @ 3:00 p.m.

Hi there, Friday monkeys! I'm in a much, much better mood today, mainly because the weekend is practically here. When I get out of here at 4:30, I'm going to pick up sushi for dinner and then we're going on a mountain bike ride. I'm more relaxed just by thinking about it.

Last night I went and got my hair all cut off, super-short, like this, except without the Winona Ryder's face part. Anyway, it's sort of androgynous, while still being oddly feminine. I'm not quite used to it yet, but I love having edgy, funky hair again. Yay.

The woman who cuts my hair is very product-happy and somehow managed to use four different styling products on my inch of remaining hair. I have no idea what she was thinking and she cracked up when she realized how insane it was. Did I really need Bumble & Bumble Prep spray and Grooming Creme and Sumotech and Sumowax to hold up my little bit of spiky hair? Probably not, but it totally looked cool.

This weekend I'm going to visit some friends in DC but I have no clue what we're actually going to do. Be confident that I'll write all about it on Monday, in drippingly boring detail.

*****************************

Crushing Through The Eighties!

I'm a crush girl. I've always had celebrity crushes and no decade was more ripe with crush-worthy boys than the 1980's. Sometimes when I look back, I nod with approval at my 14 year old self's taste, and sometimes I wonder what the hell I was thinking. I was (and still am) a very picky girl when it came to crushes. John Taylor? Ha, that's the obvious pretty boy choice! Give me the devilish and bloated Simon Le Bon!

As a teen, I skipped right over the mass-market types, such as Scott Baio and NKOTB and instead went for the weird and sensitive types. I wanted soul with my crush! I wanted mystery! I also, in one flawed instance, apparently wanted a child-actor-victim-of-Michael-Jackson-weirdo-who-got-married-on-reality-television. Hey, nobody makes good choices all the time. Here we go:

Nick Hayward (1982)
Who, you say? Why, he was the precious, overly peppy and most likely gay lead singer of Haircut 100, a British new wave pop band who's one US hit "Love Plus One" was my absolute favorite song for about a month. He is the first crush I ever had and I bought one of those Tiger Beat type magazines that had an interview with him in it. I remember that his favorite food was prawns ("Mom, what are prawns?") and his pet peeve was "pretentious people".

Incidentally, Pelican West was the first record I ever bought with my own money. It was $7.25 and I only had $7.00, so the guy in line behind me gave me a quarter. Aww.

Simon LeBon (1983)
Once Duran Duran hit my consciousness, Nick Hayward was history. I was a Simon girl all the way. John was too obvious, Roger too shy, Nick wore too much makeup, and nobody ever liked Andy. Simon was for me. The first concert I ever attended was Duran Duran at the Hampton Coliseum in 1984. It totally ruled.

Nicolas Cage (1983)
I had a short-lived flirtation with Nicolas Cage, circa 1983, a direct result of seeing "Valley Girl" in which he was totally adorable.

Michael Schoeffling (1984)
"Jake Ryan? He doesn't even know you exist!"
God, what a dream boat. I think I actually appreciated him more as I got older because he wasn't a boy, oh no, he was a man! I still love watching him in '16 Candles' as he folds his manly self into that little red Porsche. Michael Schoeffling quit the movie business in the early 90's and now has a handmade furniture business in PA somewhere.

Corey Feldman (1985)
Yeah, I know, totally creepy. I didn't know! I was young and loved, loved, loved "The Goonies". He was kind of cute back then and I had no idea how weird he would get; A friendship with Michael Jackson will do that to a child actor.

River Phoenix (1986)
My crush on Feldman ended abruptly when I first set eyes on River Phoenix. I said Goddamn. I must have seen "Stand By Me" six times in the theater. He was so dreamy and so talented and I was really upset when he died. Such a waste.

Jon Cryer (1986)
Aw, who didn't love The Duckman? No milquetoast, crybaby, Andrew McCarthy for me! No! I wanted grade-A Geek for my crush! Jon Cryer is the only celebrity I ever wrote a fan letter to (I don't remember what I wrote, but I remember trying to make is sound cool and intelligent because I didn't want him to think I was just some kid, you know?) and I got an autographed picture post card in return. I still have it.

Johnny Depp (1987-88)
I distinctly remember the first time I ever saw Johnny Depp- it was a commercial for "21 Jump Street" (squee!) and my 15-year-old jaw just dropped. He was beautiful and dark and mysterious and bad all at once. I still pretty much love him in anything.

Harry Connick, Jr.(1989-1990)
He's just the dreamiest, isn't he? Definitely a little goofy-looking but so sweet and interesting and such an amazing voice. I saw him perform live in 1990 and it still ranks as one of the best live shows I've ever seen.

******

So that's it. That's the crush list, 80's style. I still have celebrity crushes and my current short list consists of:

Mekhi Phifer
Chow Yun Fat
Jude Law
Sam Rockwell
Wes Bentley
Mark Valley

*****************************

Crushingly Nice Links

There's a movie version of Girl With A Pearl Earring in production! Eee! Colin Firth is playing Vermeer and Scarlett Johansson is Griet. According to the article, Ralph Fiennes was originally cast as Vermeer (which also works for me) and Kate Hudson and Kirsten Dunst were both being considered for Griet, which makes me think "eh". Not that I dislike either of them, but I think the character will work better with a less-familiar face. (Thanks to Gem-Chan for telling me about this!)

Check out the Famous Ghost Monologues at Tomato Nation. They're really wonderful, especially #1. I'd love to hear it spoken and I hope Sars keeps writing them!

A little Friday PSA: Go to donotcall.gov and register your phone number to prevent telemarketers from calling you.

Have a good weekend, my little monkeys!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com