Clearly I'm Painfully Boring and Food Obsessed.
Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2003 @ 4:02 p.m.

What's today? Tuesday? You know what's good about Tuesday? 'Keen Eddie' is on tonight! Watch it before it gets cancelled, because you know it will. It's kind of sad that this is all I can come up with to look forward to, but hey, I love some television.

Alright, there are a few things I'm looking forward to:

-The Tour de France starts July 5th! We watch it every year and Kenny dorks out with the whole online dream team thing. Love it.

-Reading the new Harry Potter, which I don't yet own. Working on that.

-The Rollin� River Rambler MTB Classic, my next race. I've never ridden the Panorama Trail, but I've heard it's beautiful, which I'm sure I'll be thinking about when I'm sweating and nauseous and dragging my bike through the mud. Can't wait!

-Vacation! Holy crap, Kenny and I are actually going on a vacation later this year! We're going to New Mexico for a week in September, thanks to some help from my aunt. Also, Kenny's brother lives out there and we've been meaning to visit, so this takes care of the two-bird stoning thing. Right on. I've never been to NM, but I've always wanted to go. Also, vacation? Ha! I didn't think this word would ever apply to me again. So. Excited.

-Also, I look forward to the day I can walk out of this stinking loan center and never come back. Permanent job, where the hell are you?

**************************

Lacking Tastebuds. A Richmond Tradition.

How many Richmonders does it take to change a lightbulb? Three. One to change the lightbulb and two to talk about how great the old one was.

Sometimes I am amused by "southern tradition" but mostly it just annoys the crap out of me. This is especially true when it comes to food. (I know I complain about bad food a lot, but this is serious.) Besides the southern tradition of putting ham in everything, there's this weird random food-loyalty thing that I just do not understand.

Case in point- my lunch today. It was another Free! Lunch! day at the loan center and everyone was all a-tither because we were getting Sally Bell's Kitchen box lunches. "Oh mahhh! Theyah just the verra best!" Old-school Richmonders cream themselves over these box lunches, and, having eaten one on more than one occasion, I can rightfully say I don't get the fuss. You be the judge:

One Sally Bell's Kitchen box lunch containing:

-olive cream cheese on slightly dried out white bread with the crusts cut off.
-cup of yellowish, room-temperature, macaroni salad, which was way too sweet and mayonnaisy and also had an odd, stringy, quality.
-deviled egg, also room temperature (and too mayonnaisy-sweet) but otherwise okay.
-funny little cheese wafer with a pecan on top, which I enjoyed.
-upside-down chocolate cupcake, which was unremarkable.

Why the rabid hysteria over Sally Bells? I have no clue. Really, not that fabulous. The room-temperature thing really made everything worse, as I'm of the opinion that anything containing mayonnaise should be kept as refrigerated as possible. Food poisoning is no joke, Sally Bell.

Another example of Richmond-based bad food hysteria- the confusing popularity of Bill's Barbecue. Even when I ate barbecue, I didn't get it. Who likes dry, minced sawdust-like pork on a white bun? Served in a badly-lit and depressing fast-food environment by bad-tempered people? Ohh! Me first! Also, they have this sign out front with a picture of two cartoon pigs eating a plate of barbecue. They're eating themselves! Oh, the humanity! You have to love the south, man.

There's also the whole shad roe thing, which is so unexplainable that I won't even try.

**************************

Here's another great restaurant review by Janet. Memo to Janet: If the menu is written in Korean, it's probably a safe bet that it's a Korean restaurant. Doesn't she remind you of Jean Teasdale?

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com