Will Work For Food.
Thursday, Jun. 12, 2003 @ 4:10 p.m.

Hi, short entry today because I'm still catching up, after being at the Job! Interview! for two hours in the middle of the day. The interview didn't take two hours, but I had to get some lunch and stuff, being that I was out and about in the world.

And ya! Interview is over!

It went really well. The owner of the company (which is very, very small) was very casual and down-to-earth. She also collects art and has funky-in-a-good-way taste. Not conservative at all. I was impressed and I'm a art snob. I was also relieved to see that the dress code was very casual. This is important, as I cannot be wearing pantyhose and suits in the middle of the summer. It would make me cry. But I digress.

The thing about the job: they're either going to hire a bigwig for the job or they're going to hire someone like me who's got related experience, but is new to the job. She said she's leaning more towards the latter, which is good. We'll see. I don't want to jinx it by over-analyzing.

You know what I hate about interviews? Having to dress like a conservative little go-getter type. My suit (I have only one) is black and simple and no matter what I do, I feel like a stewardess when I wear it. The straight black skirt, pantyhose, high-heeled pump look. Ick. I even wore my little kitten heel slingbacks and still felt like a young republican. Short of wearing a spangly bra under my suit jacket, I don't know what else to do to loosen up my look. Body paint? Interesting piercings? If I get a second interview, I'll have to just wear something a little more interesting.

And pantyhose? Fuck you. I know it's a better option than the old school garter belt and stockings routine (which I guess is sexy, but who wants to wear all that crap for an entire work day?), but they still suck. Also, I hate the word "panty". Is there a nastier sounding word in the English language, besides maybe "moist"? Or "clot"? Oh damn, I'm giving myself the heebs just by typing that.

Anyway, pantyhose. My problem? I bought a pair in my size. Big mistake, because I put them on this morning and the crotch was right about where my knees are. Hmm. I tried again, and managed to move things up a little further, but I knew if I pushed it too far I'd be putting a finger right through them. (Whoops! There goes $7!) This would have sucked because my only alternative is nude colored fishnets and that's pushing it for an interview.

Anyway, when I got back from the interview I went for a little rest stop and when shimmying back into the hose of hell, I managed to stick my entire hand through them. Motherf...

But, now I'm all barelegged and happy in the land of stirrup pants and Disney wear. Nobody cares. Whee.

******************

Clicky Click.

I love the news at Obscure Store.

Oh man, they really shouldn't let James Marsters do interviews. (via TV Tattle)

Aw, Gregory Peck died.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com