Rage Against the Spirit Machine.
Wednesday, Jun. 11, 2003 @ 4:17 p.m.

Today at 3pm, the Spirit Celebration is being held in the cafe. I will not be attending. I got your spirit right here, punk. I'm also not wearing red, white and blue as requested. What is this, high school? The Spirit Celebration is basically a pep rally, right? That's just sad. "Give me an L! O! W! Give me an R! A! T! E! S! What does that spell?

Y-O-U H-A-V-E A J-O-B! F-O-R! N-O-W!

but...

W-E W-I-L-L N-O-T H-E-S-I-T-A-T-E T-O L-A-Y Y-O-U-R A-S-S O-F-F L-A-T-E-R!

Is workplace moral so low that this is what we have to stoop to? A ridiculous pep rally? Perhaps if these poor drones weren't underpaid and over-worked, they'd be a lot happier? I don't know, though. Some of these people have been here for years, boss lady included.

And oh my God, the pressure! They're sending people around with cowbells, haranguing them to go down to the cafe. They can't physically force me, right? Not. Going.

Ha! Right-side cube neighbor just came back from the Spirit Celebration and said "well, that was a complete waste of time". Apparently two of the managers did the "Who's on First" bit, but replaced the names with bank phrase: "who's the loan processor? What's the bank's name?" Wow. That makes the entire routine pointless, doesn't it? Apparently they did the entire thing, too. So sorry I missed it.

***************************************

Oh, hell yes.

I have a job interview tomorrow! I do! I do! It's for a job at a small advertising agency! I got the interview because I sent this cover letter:

Dear Hiring Manager,

This was supposed to be a typical cover letter, announcing my application for the Account Management position. My typical cover letter is dry, but to the point. To be honest, it hasn�t been doing much for me lately. Then, when I saw this ad and did a little research into XXX Marketing, I realized I had to try something different. Instead of boring you senseless by reiterating my resume (which I hope you�ll read!) here�s a little something different:

About a year and a half ago, I got an amazing job. It was interesting, challenging, and it made me look forward to going to work every day. I threw myself into it. Unfortunately, the poor economy took hold and I was laid off.

Since then, I�ve been looking for another job with a company I could be excited about working for. I�ve been temping so I wouldn�t have to take the first thing that came along. I�ve been temping a long time. Then, I saw the XXX Marketing ad and found an article online about how XXX was started and I was intrigued and excited. Yours is a company I�d be proud to be a part of.

So, why should you consider interviewing me? I�m sharp, I�m dependable, I have a good sense of humor, and I do my homework. I�m a hard worker and I thrive in a small business atmosphere. I�m also quite a good researcher and I don�t like leaving questions unanswered. Most of all, I have a healthy sense of urgency and I take care of my customers, both internal and external.

So that�s it. If nothing else, I hope this cover letter is less boring than many you will be reading. Maybe it will help me to stand out or maybe it will end up in the �no� pile. I hope it�s the former and I�d love to meet with you. XX

I just got fed up with sending out the same boring crap, so, on the advice of my aunt, I just threw caution to the wind and broke some rules. Hell, it worked! They loved it and I have an interview tomorrow, even though I'm not really confident that I'm qualified for the position. Whatever, it still rules. Now all I have to do is not screw it up.

******************************

Weak Links.

I'm in love. Seriously, if you've not watched 'Keen Eddie' yet, do it. Do it before it gets cancelled, which it will, because it's way, way too good for Fox.

Is it wrong that a small part of me wants to go to the Buffy Conference?

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com