Documenting My Squalor.
Monday, Jun. 02, 2003 @ 4:25 p.m.

Holy freaking crap. I woke up this morning and it was Monday. How the hell did that happen? I'm in a decent mood, though, because the weather is being uncharacteristically nice. Ever since the state of Virginia moved to Portland, OR it's been a real drag what with the non-stop rain and cold. Memo to summer: Where and also, when? In addition, how soon? This is just crazy. Saturday it rained with typhoon-like intensity and also hailed. Nice touch, the hail.

Overall, my weekend was really nice. We went to the bike race on Friday night and had a great time. The race was 50 super-fast laps around part of downtown and was quite the event. We watched the whole thing (and caught the end of the women's race which was really intense) and ran into some bikey friends. A good time all around. Did you know that Jelly Belly sponsors a pro cycling team? Go team Jelly Belly! They have Jelly Bellys on their cycling outfits and everything. I wonder if they get beat up a lot? Ha. Cute.

The rest of the weekend was spent doing my usual things: slacking, riding my bike, shopping, slacking and sleeping in. Also, slacking. There was sushi involved as well.

Yesterday I went to my mother's to check out the new opossum family that had taken up residence in one of her basement windows wells. I don't care what anyone says- baby opossums are damn cute, especially when they yawn and wiggle their ears. That's some powerful cute, y'all. I just adore young vermin. (Call me Brandine when they come to document my squalor!)

********************************

I'm Jinxing This Already.

I applied to a job last night that I think I have a real chance at getting an interview for. However, I've thought that before and nothing happened. Nothing ever does. I don't want to talk details right now, but if everyone could hold their breath for me, that'd be great, thanks. Need job. For Real.

If I don't get an interview, something is WRONG WITH ME. Screw the economy, screw my weirdly specific qualifications, something is wrong. With. Me. How is it possible to spend 16 months looking for a job without getting one offer? This is the saddest thing I've ever heard. It has to be me.

Or maybe it has anything to do with the frolicking clowns I printed on the bottom of my resume? Everyone likes clowns, right? And by "likes clowns" I obviously mean everyone "fears clowns". Scary clowns can get me a job! Hire me or the clowns will come get you! DO IT OR ELSE CLOWNS WILL COME FOR YOU.

Speaking of jobs I don't have, remember my horror last week, when I learned that I'd be moved to a different section of the loan center? With a new boss and everything? Right, well, that was supposed to happen today and absolutely nothing has happened. My boss hasn't said a word about it and we're all still here. Weird. I did hear last week that I'd be moving across the way, which means away from Milton. I dare not even hope it's true! How lovely that would be. A Milton-free workplace. It sounds almost civilized.

********************************

Links. Or Something Like It.

Check out Time Tales if you like looking at random, found photos. I love buying vintage photos and have used them in found-object art pieces. So many untold stories.

Whee! Buffy Star Anthony Stewart Head Talks TV Spinoff

Everyone needs an animatronic head, right?

Happy Birthday to Noah!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com