One! Hundredth! Entry!
Wednesday, May. 28, 2003 @ 3:46 p.m.

100 entries worth of loan center temp job misery and whining! 100 days of Milton tantrums! Many of you have soldiered through and read my novella length rants. I'd like to thank you for your support. I'd also like to thank the baby Jesus for giving me the strength to deal with the daily visual assault of stirrup pants, Disney apparel, and brown mules worn with white socks.

As well, I should thank Bank of X Spirit Council for making me that much stronger, making my skin a little bit thicker; It makes me that much smarter, so thanks for making me a fighter, Spirit Leaders.

Whee! I'm actually pretty impressed that I've stuck with this journal so long. It's keeping me sane. Onward, then!

****************************

Mmmm...Nitrates.

Red lunch tickets were handed out this morning at the loan center. There was supposed to be a picnic today, but the weather (gray and rainy! Shocking!) isn't cooperating, so instead, they're setting up in the cafe. In exchange for the ticket you get the following:

Choice of a wrinkly hot dog or over-cooked hamburger, potato chips, potato salad, a cookie and a soda.

Is this prison? This is a reward for hard work? I gave my ticket away and everyone was shocked. They know I don't eat meat, but I could eat potato salad! And potato chips! And the cookie! Dear God, the cookie! Like, I'm supposed to glut myself with fatty starch just because it's free?

I calmly explained that I don't usually eat that kind of thing. Blank looks. Milton then said "But the potato salad is really good! You could have that for lunch." I explained that if I ate a heap of orangey, mayonnaise-laden potato salad for lunch, followed by potato chips and a cookie, I'd feel logy and sick afterwards. The cleaner I eat, the better I feel. He didn't get it.

It's apparent that my food choices (read: generally healthy) have made me a loan center outcast. I don't eat fast food? I don't like Olive Garden? I don't drink soda with every meal? I don't think a traditional lunch of processed meat and potatoes is healthy? I love sushi? What the hell is wrong with me?

Also, according to them, I'm thin! I don't have to watch calories! I can eat whatever I want! When they say this, I point out that I wasn't always thin and the reason I am now is because I made drastic changes in my formerly fast-food-laden diet. I can't just stop because I'm currently thin. It's called maintaining and it's work. Really, I don't give a shit what anyone else eats, why do they care so much what I eat?

Actually, that's not really true. I do care about what one of my co-workers eats because I worry that she's headed down the Food Poisoning Highway. Her hours are 11:00am to 8:00pm and the cafe closes at 2pm, so she purchases her dinner at 1:30, wraps it in plastic and leaves it out on her desk. For hours.

Gah! Right now she's got a loaded hot dog and some potato salad hanging out next to her in-box. I'm scared for her. Hold me.

Sure, sure, she'll probably be fine, what with the nitrates and all, but still. Mayonnaise has no business being out of the fridge! I've had food poisoning (in a Terre Haute Holiday Inn! Beat that, Sunnydale hell portal!) and it's not pretty. I just do not understand why she just ignores the TWO GIANT REFRIGERATORS in the break room! Gah! Refrigeration is your friend!

Also, yes, I'm one of those people who's been known to throw out perfectly good milk because it was past (or even near) it's expiration date. For me, "good until 05/31/03" translates into: "throw me away immediately". I was once proved right in my theory when Kenny sprinkled questionable (but not expired) cheese on burritos, ignoring that even our cheese-loving cat refused to eat it. It was nas-tee. He eventually concurred, but kept eating his burrito despite my stricken look. Or perhaps because of it. Hmph.

****************************

Links of Meaty Goodness.

This description of How Hot Dogs Are Made from the National Hot Dog & Sausage Council does not make things better.

The whole "expiration date" thing is a pack of lies. There's no comfort to be found in those numbers! I just knew it.

Here's a list of 10 Foods You Should Never Eat. I ruin it for everyone.

Links of the Apocalypse.

Ben Affleck will be the new male face for L'Oreal. Riiiiight. Hahaha. Wait, seriously?

Avril Lavigne's song "Sk8er Boi" is going to be turned into a movie. In related news, the plague of locusts will be arriving shortly.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com