The Earth Is Most Certainly Doomed.
Wednesday, May. 21, 2003 @ 4:27 p.m.

While standing by the fax machine, I looked out across the massive sea of gray cubes and gray faces and I just felt bleak. I cannot believe I've worked here for nearly eight months. How is that even possible? I've been here twice as long as the job that laid me off. I've worked here almost exactly as long as I was unemployed in between.

I cannot believe, sometimes, that this is my lot. Doomed to temp. I had an informational interview last fall with a nice guy at an advertising agency who was horrified that I couldn't get hired. Dude, tell me about it. I mean, I know the economy's bad blah blah blah, but surely, surely I'm smart and skilled enough to get an interview for jobs like: Records Clerk. Account Coordinator. Marketing Assistant. Underpaid Lacky. Nope, none of them want me.

Is this forever? Am I doomed to become a temporary lifer? I have to admit, in some ways, temping beats some of the crappy permanent jobs I've had, simply because I don't have to care. Not my emergency. It's all about putting in the minimum effort required.

Are you depressed yet? I am. But hey, at least I have a job, right? Can I tell you how sick I am of that statement? Also, please never, ever, say "Have you tried Monster.com?" to a job-seeking person. They might kill you and you probably deserve it. I'm so desperate that I actually uploaded my resume to the crappy local paper's awful "Job Seeker" website. Yay! Now I just have to wait for the fat job offers from snappy local companies to come rolling in! I'm holding my breath starting right now!

In other temp news, Milton is MAKING ME CRAZY. AND NOT LIKE A FOX. Seriously, he was mumbling at his desk earlier and, when I tuned in, I realized he was actually speaking to me? From across the room? At a mumble? Jesus Christ, Milton, if you want to tell me something, address me! Use my name!

Also, he's been doing that backandforthtotheprinter thing all damn fucking day. I just want to get an extension cord and drag the damn printer over to his damn cube so he'll sit the hell still. It makes me tense to having him flurrying behind me all day.

I say we have cubes, but really, they're just horseshoe-shaped desks with very low dividers, and we all sit with our backs to the walkway which makes me jumpy in general. Sidling is an hourly occurrence around here, so the added stress of Milton's backandforth activity just makes me want to scream.

I think maybe I'll go to kickboxing tonight? Clearly I have some rage that needs addressing.

*********************************

Grrrr. Arrgh.

***Warning! If you haven't seen the 'Buffy' series finale, stop reading now. Unless you like spoilers. Or, uh, don't watch the show.****

I loved the 'Buffy' finale. I thought it was great, but I know a lot of people disagree with me. Sure, there were a lot of sub-plot holes, but there's really no way they could cover everything in an hour (it should've been two). The dialogue was brilliant: sharp and funny with lots of in-jokes; the action was good, and certain bits were left open for the future, as it should be. I laughed, I cried, I bawled like a baby.

A few things bugged: While I kinda liked the "empower all women" thing, the delivery was ultra-hokey. Also, what happened to Buffy's mortal wound? Did Spike somehow heal it? Where did Angel get the necklace and why is this the first we'd heard of it? Did Giles and Buffy make up and we just never saw it? Also, it also seemed weird to have Xander be throwing out the snappy quips half an hour after Anya's death.

God, Anya's death. I know, I know, she'd already lived for a thousand years, but she was my favorite character and I'm sad it had to be her and not, say, Kennedy. Fuzzy, floppy bunnies indeed.

Spike's death didn't surprise me as much, even though I'd read he was moving to Angel. I read somewhere this morning that on Angel (which I can't watch, as I lack the WB), there was talk of a prophecy about a vampire with a soul giving his life to save the world, who will come back as a human. So, it's possible Spike is still moving to Angel. Not that it does me any good.

All in all, I was satisfied. It was a good ending to a great show. Even when 'Buffy' was bad, it was still better than anything else on television.

*********************************

Basically, I feel the same way Kim does about the finale.

Here is, interestingly, a negative article about TWoP. Even though I really enjoy reading TWoP re-caps, I realized that I only read re-caps of shows I watch and also make fun of. However, I rarely read the Buffy re-caps because I love it too much and can't handle it being picked on. Criticism is fine, but outright snark I reserve for Joe Millionaire. (via scrubbles.net)

Ah, The Simple Life. Paris Hilton and Nicole Richie (Lionel's daughter) on a farm in Arkansas? Really, does it get any better than that?

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com