Jibber-Jabber.
Thursday, May. 15, 2003 @ 4:23 p.m.

I've been really boring lately. I've been producing filler-ific journal entries and not producing a single original thought. Mostly it's just because I've been in a bit of a funk and feel like maybe I should keep my whining to myself. Also, it's been a stressy week. My car is broken again, thus probably ruining my weekend plans, and the painful knot of stress in the base of my neck is only getting worse. All this aside, I'm in a pretty good mood today, probably because I went to kickboxing last night and released some nameless rage or something.

Also putting me in a good mood is my new H&M skirt which I'm wearing today and it is very cute, if I do say so myself. It's olive green and sort of cargo-y military style and I love it. H&M is the Ikea of clothing- stylish and cheap as hell, though not very sturdy. There also isn't one in Richmond, which makes it all the more appealing. The wanna-be snob in me enjoys being asked where I got my skirt so I can blithely answer "New York" as if I'm some sort of 1950's socialite who goes to New York or Paris to purchase a spring wardrobe. Haw.

********************************

Monkey!

Aw man, go read this entry by tha' Smartypants. The bit about the monkey store killed because Kenny and I have a similar shtick. I'll often call him at work and, using a bad fake accent, ask him if he'd like to buy a monkey.

"HELLO. Would you like to buy a monkey?"

"What kind of monkeys do you have?"

"HELLO. Please be buying a monkey?"

"What kind do you have?"

"MONKEYS."

"I'll take two."

"THAT WILL BE $500."

"That's a lot of money."

"VERY GOOD MONKEYS."

"Great. What do you want for dinner?"

Kenny also delights in having fun with the Citibank telemarketers who call us relentlessly. Utilizing his best redneck drawl, he'll tells them that I'm out buying him beer or herding the goats or fixing his truck. Sometimes, if they're really persistent and/or rude, he'll pull a jealous husband act: "who are you? Who? Why are you calling my wife?!!" They usually hang up right sharpish. I know telemarketers are just people doing their job but that doesn't mean a little fun can't be had. They are calling us, after all.

********************************

Random and Bitchy Co-Worker Observation.

The Fed-Ex machine that was installed last week has a dial-up connection and the dial-up noise completely confounded my boss. Today she said "That noise, it sounds like a buzzer or electric fence or something? It's coming from the Fed-Ex computer!" Dude, she's never heard a dial-up connection? However, we are talking about the woman who still refers to emails as "Lotus Notes" even though we've been using Outlook for months.

Generally Boss Lady is pretty nice to me, though she's always rather vague. She has an annoying habit of standing while on the phone, which means she has a clear view of my monitor. I doubt she's trying to look at my monitor, but you never can tell with vague people. When my friends ask if I'm worried that she'll discover my journal, I can only say I'm not. I'm really not, mostly because I don't care that much. Plus, I could probably get away with a lot more and not get in trouble. I come in on time, I generally do my work with competence and I'm quiet. What more can you ask from a temp?

**************************

Link til the breaka breaka dawn.

Here's one for the nerdy boys. You know who you are.

Need a Hatching Monkey? A Dean Martin hand puppet? Find it at Disturbingauctions.com

All-Star Survivor. Eh, I don't know how great this will be, but you know I'll watch it anyway. And Richard Hatch? Does the world really need more Richard Hatch?

Uh-oh. www.televisionwithoutpity.com might be going away! Sucks! I love the survivor re-caps like family.

Lord have mercy. Fox Brings Back 'Joe Millionaire' in Fall.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com