All-Day Suck.
Monday, May. 12, 2003 @ 4:05 p.m.

I'm cold. I'm always cold because I work in the most over-air-conditioned building, ever. Really, it's only about 65 degrees outside, does it really need to be 45 degrees inside? Some of these freaks walk around in short sleeves while I huddle, blue-nosed, at my desk. What do they know that I don't? At least it keeps me awake, which is important this morning, because, along with cold, I'm also sleepy and grumpy.

I'm grumpy because I had a fun weekend and now I'm back in bland world wondering when I'm going to get a real job. I'm thinking it's never, ever, going to happen. I'm going to become one of those weird perma-temps, who've resigned themselves to an under-paid life filled with other people's mundane tasks. Christ.

I'm sleepy because most of yesterday was spent in a car on 95 and there's nothing more exhausting than a day full of non-action in a car. I also had a really crazy, but fun weekend because I tagged along with Kate to NJ and NY. We spend Saturday in Manhattan (specifically Midtown, Chelsea and SoHo), all of it on foot.

We first went to H&M, which I adore, then we walked and looked at stuff and walked and had a great brunch-y lunch. Then we walked and met my friend Heather for a drink (the bar had kitties! ), then we walked and looked in shops, while I kept an eye out for David Bowie, because he lives in the neighborhood.

It was a great fun day, but seriously tiring. And now I'm back and dealing with the Monday letdown. The fun is over, back to real life.

******************************

That Sucking Sound

You hear that? That's the sound of a job that sucks. Specifically, of a temp job that sucks. This is normally the part where I write a few paragraphs about Milton's latest rampage, how he's freaking out and taking out all his aggression on his phone. I might also write about how he's making my life miserable today by handing me emergency rush orders, giving half the instructions on what to do, ditching me because his phone is ringing (for the bazillionth time), then being annoyed because I haven't finished the task I don't know how to finish. I am so ready to snap on his ass that I can barely contain myself.

But, you know what? I'm sick of writing about it and I'm sure you're sick of hearing me whine about it. Instead, I'll give you a Milton story that will make you laugh and then maybe weep.

The Milton Story:

Milton sends me a closing worksheet template to re-create in Word because the photocopied version was getting blurry and the original was lost. He also emailed, in a separate attachment, the Bank of X logo to include on the template, because the original didn't have one. This template is something that's faxed to the banker, then hole-punched and stuck in the loan file.

I re-created the template and stuck the logo in the left-hand corner, because that's where it is on the Bank of X letterhead. I email the finished template back to Milton and he's happy. Yay.

Later in the day, he faxes it to a banker, then hole-punches the top so it can go in the file. One of the holes goes through the logo and Milton says:

"I'll have to send this back to you so you can move the logo."

"Why does the logo need to be moved?"

"Well, the hole goes right through it."

"Sooo? It's just a file copy."

"Well, but, it's disrespectful."

My jaw drops.

"Milton, Disrespectful to who? It's a bank logo! It's not like you're punching holes in the American flag. Who's going to see it? More importantly, who's going to care?"

Well, if ______(CEO of Bank of X) saw it, he might care."

Sad, right? I mean, damn. I just shook my head and walked away at this point. I also didn't move the logo, but I bet he did.

******************************

Monday-tastic Links.

Ooh, go read about World of Tomorrow, a pre-WWII, action/sci-fi movie done entirely on blue screen. It sounds like it'll either be really cool or a complete disaster. If nothing else, Jude Law as a fighter pilot!

The end of the world is nigh. Lance Bass, Paris Hilton to Star in 'Great Gatsby' Film. The. Hell? I can almost guarantee that neither of them have ever picked up a copy of 'The Great Gatsby' or any other book, for that matter. I am stunned by how wrong this is. Stunned.

Marshmallow Peeps go to the library! (link via PCJM)

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com