Don't Believe the Adrien Hype - Its a Sequel.
Monday, May. 05, 2003 @ 3:56 p.m.

I'll refrain from quoting that really awful Bangles song that�s not even good in an ironic way, but you know what I'm thinking, right? Yeah, it's Monday. I'm so disappointed. I did have a pretty nice weekend, though. Saturday I went to the gym and then spent the afternoon hanging out with Kate, pretending to shop. Saturday night K and I made stirfry and watched a video. 24 hour party people we are not.

On Sunday, I was Efficient Girl! I went on a mountain bike ride with Kenny in the morning (arm still hurts, but not too much) and then spent the afternoon cleaning the house and doing laundry. Not the most fun I've ever had, but it feels really good to have a clean house, if for only a few days before the dust/cat hair/junk mail clutter grows back (like kudzu). Sunday night was spent watching TV and eating pizza. Right on.

I also spent some time yesterday working on an application for a Grown-up Career job that I'd actually love to have, but I'm probably under qualified for. (As opposed to the jobs I apply to that I'm not crazy about, but am vaguely qualified for.) I don't want to talk about it too much for fear of jinxing it, but it would be a major career step and would also involve moving (though not far). It would also mean actual paper money. Wish me luck! Even though it's pointless! Penniless and insane!

For those of you keeping track at home:

15 months. 120 resumes sent. Three job interviews. Zero job offers.

**********************

"Oh, God, I'm bored. Might as well be listening to Genesis!"*

I could be having so much fun if I wasn't here. Things I could do if I was not required to be at work today:

- I could read in bed, while surrounded by sleepy cats
- and also eating a cinnamon scone and drinking a cappuccino.
- I could be riding my bike.
- I could be napping.
- I could be watching the middle section of 'Manor House', which I taped but haven't had time to watch.
- I could be watching Bend It Like Beckham in a near-empty theater while eating popcorn.
- I could be doing the winter/summer clothing switch-over.
- I could be spying on the new set of dove babies.

All these things are clearly better options than ordering title searches and appraisals, don't you agree? I think I need a vacation. Temps don't get vacations.

**This makes me feel better: while Milton was out, his beloved fax machine was taken away and replaced with a Fed-Ex machine. He's back in, but hasn't noticed yet. The waiting is such sweet agony.

Also, I don't know if I ever mentioned this, but Milton actually does have a red Swingline on his desk. The daily temptation to steal it is strong, my friends. I'm not sure how much longer I can resist...** **

**********************

Creep of the Day.

I knew as soon as I saw him, sweaty and disheveled, standing outside of the Subway. A creep. Bad News #1. The creeps all truly love me, so I've been forced to develop a well-honed Creep Sense over the years. I saw him and I knew. Avoiding eye contact, I headed for my car. Then, he proved me right.

"Excuse meeee!" "Excuse meeee!"

I walked faster.

"Excuse meeeee!"

Faster.

"Exxxcuseee meeee!"

Unlock, jump in, re-lock quickly. Drive away.

Why are the creeps so persistent? Why is it okay to follow a woman to her car? Why is it okay to ask a woman you don't know what kind of condom "the ladies" prefer? What does it say about me that I'm tasty creep bait?

**********************

Linky.

Pamie's cats are back to writing journal entries! Here's Cal's entry and here's Taylor's.

Billy Ray Cyrus cut off his mullet and, apparently, he did it for the good of the country. I know I'm relieved.

When I Was Little. I love this site. People have sent in a baby photos and current photos, which are placed side-by-side so you can see how people change (or don't). Neat idea!

Oh crap. Third 'Grease' Film Planned. "The plan is to set the new project in the disco era of the late 1970s, and have the story revolve around the children of the original characters." Ha!

*Mystery quote!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com