Please Be Getting Your Friday Freak On.
Friday, Apr. 25, 2003 @ 3:44 p.m.

Whoot! Friday! I feel like such a stereotypical 9-5er with my TGIF attitude, but how could I not be happy about it? Hahaha, and my boss just asked all the permanent employees to come in tomorrow. Haw. Never!

So, the weekend. Saturday I'm going to go to the gym, run some errands and spend the afternoon catching up with Kate, who I haven't seen in ages (okay a week and a half). I also need to apply for a job and clean up our filthy sty of an apartment.

Sunday morning I'm meeting a new bike buddy and will hopefully get in a 2 hour ride out in Ashland. Sunday afternoon I'll probably mooch around. Aren't I exciting?

***********************************

A little loan center humor for you:

Milton was on a phone call, when a random outbreak of Spirit-cow-bell ringing occurred. After hanging up, Milton said "the banker I was talking to said he hoped our associates weren't as big as they sounded!"

I gave him a flat look.

"You know, he was saying that our co-workers need to wear cow bells because they're big as cows!"

"I get the joke, Milton, I just don't think it's funny."

"Hahaha! Really? I thought it was pretty funny!"

"That's because you've never been fat."

Silence.

Score!

***********************************

Survivor.

'Survivor' ruled last night! Another upset that made me so happy, because if things had gone the other way, Rob, Heidi, Jenna, and Alex would've probably ended up the final four. Hate them all. I'm really rooting for Christy to win, with Butch a close second. Matt, though completely creepy, is growing on me, mostly because he's so clueless and it would rule if he won and showed up the schemers.

Rob, even if he manages to make it to the final two, would never pull off a win because the entire jury will hate him. I'm going to enjoy watching Heidi and Jenna get booted, hopefully soon. They make my skin crawl, with their catty selves.

Speaking of catty, what was all the bitchery surrounding Christy winning the bid for the letter? Who says Jenna deserves it more? Please, girl, you wanted that peanut butter bad enough to outbid people and nobody's crying about that. And, you got your damn letter anyway! I must also say, if my mom was sick with BRAIN CANCER, the last place I'd be was on a reality show in the freaking Amazon. I'm just saying.

Funniest part of last night's show: The survivors are puzzling over the food auction tree-mail and Heidi says something like "do you think we get real food or are they just messing with us?" Dude, have you never watched the show? They do the food auction EVERY SINGLE SEASON. Sheesh!

***********************************

And, a Mud Pit!

So on the news last night I caught the tail end of a story about a bike race called Muddy Buddy that's coming to town in July. Hey! I checked the website and laughed and laughed. Uh, no. I think they let the producers of Mtv's Road Rules design it. Here's the description:

Both partners start at the same time, one running and one biking. The first obstacle is at the one mile mark. The biker will approach the transition area first. They will drop the bike and conquer the obstacle and start running to the 2nd transition/obstacle. The runner will then approach the first transition area, conquer the obstacle, find the bike and start riding to the 2nd transition/obstacle area. The team will continue to leap frog throughout the course switching from biking and running throughout the course.

Course obstacles: There are 5 obstacles on each course as well as natural terrain challenges. Each course includes hay bales, tire challenge and of course the famous 5th obstacle - the mud pit.

Hahaha! A MUD PIT? Right-O. Did I mention this race is in July? In Richmond? Yay, heat stroke! Bring it on! The website is hilariously branded: you get all the free RED HOOK� beer you can drink and you can test ride SPECIALIZED� bikes! And purchase BROOKS� Muddy Buddy gear at the BROOKS� tent! While drinking RED HOOK� beer! Did we mention the SPECIALIZED� bikes?

It might appeal to me more if I was a runner (though the distances aren't that far) but I really hate how the teams have to use the same bike, as it means you have to be roughly the same size or someone gets screwed. And, you can't use clipless pedals! I'm sure it will be a blast to watch, though, which I'm planning on doing. I sent the link to Kenny and he sent back this comment:

...sounds like some marketing types got together and said "lets make them go through this big mud bog...then they have to switch bikes, all while holding up our product!"

I think I'll stick to the regular mountain bike races, thanks. I find plenty of mud all by myself. No mud pit needed!

Drool.
Double drool.

***********************************

Get Your Link On.

There's a movie version of I Capture The Castle coming out! I loved the book and I'm excited about the movie too. It's a British production, so hopefully will be excellent. There's an official website here, which gives more detail. Thanks to Brkfstfnys for tipping me off!

'Buffy, the Vampire Slayer' Mocks Christianity. And? The conservative Christians are just now starting to notice Buffy? Where have they been for seven years? And really, the "evil preacher man" thing has been done so many times before, you'd think they'd be used to it by now. It's a show about evil! I should add, when you say stuff like �The Bible tells us that we have to live 'in this world' but we don't have to be a part of it in terms of dealing with all the filth.� you're kind of asking for it. (link courtesy of Lotsofco.org)

How weird and sad is this? Bar None Inc. is using the Pets.com sock puppet as their mascot. Dude, what? They even put out a fakey press release! I do not understand this. Why would they want to use the mascot of a dot com that failed so spectacularly? Sure the puppet is cute, but all I think is "deadcompany.com" when I see it.

Have good weekends, cheeky monkeys!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com