And my time is a piece of wax...
Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003 @ 3:39 p.m.

"The only real challenge with this job is trying to look busy when there's nothing to do." from Clockwatchers

That's the truth. So, while I think I might have been over-reacting yesterday about losing my stellar temp job, I'm still without much to do. It's hard to look busy for eight hours when you only have two hours worth of work. Things would be so much nicer if I could just stop pretending to work every. single. time. my boss stands up or walks by.

I talked to another co-worker about it and he said that if they get rid of a temp, it's because they're getting rid of all the temps and I just don't see that happening. I'm probably fine then, which is almost a little disappointing.

Eee! I checked my home voicemail (which I do approximately 100 times a day) and there was a message about a job! For me! There was a message about a job for me! Way back in August I apparently applied for a state job that got frozen and now has thawed out. They wanted to know if I'm still interested! I called and left a message saying I was, even though I have no idea what job it is.

I think she said the word "administrative" which probably means "low paying" and perhaps "boring" but who the hell cares? Hopefully they'll at least give me an interview before breaking my heart. Ha, I'll probably get hired and then two weeks later they'll lay me off.

********************************

NotifyTHIS.

I've realized (lord, I'm slow) that Notifylist hasn't been working at all this week, which would explain my low stats. Screw you, Notifylist! I've written an entry every day this week! Go read them! They're fascinating! Not really.

********************************

Book Challenge Thingy.

So far, I've heard from:

Emiloo who suggested a bunch of interesting books, but I think I'll start with To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf, because I read it years ago for my high school AP English class and was too young to truly appreciate it. Emiloo, what are you going to read from my list?

Brkfstfnys, who's going to read I Capture The Castle and suggested The Princess Bride by William Goldman, which I've read many, many times, so I need another suggestion, lady!

Palinode, who's going to read Time and Again (which RULES) and suggested Matt Ruff's Sewer, Gas and Electric for me.

I've been meaning to link to bookcrossing.com for a while now because I love the idea, but I haven't tried it yet. My friend Noah's mom told me about it and she's had a lot of fun with it.

********************************

Links-O-Mindless-Entertainment.

Madonna calls the kettle black.

Mark Burnett's latest reality projects sound dreadful, but I'll probably watch them anyway. And six new reality shows are going to be shot in New York City this year? Jesus, I feel sorry for the NY natives.

300 reasons to love the Simpsons. (link courtesy of Web Sweepings)

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com