Temporary.
Wednesday, Apr. 23, 2003 @ 3:50 p.m.

Oh damn. Am I out of a job? I'd noticed that in the last week my workload had been diminishing, but that's happened before and I chalked it up to the ebb and flow of loan applications. A few weeks ago, they'd started giving me loans to script (capital T-edious) and order docs on, but then they stopped and I'm back to just ordering docs. Whatever.

But then this morning, one of the other processors commented that she's been the only one giving me anything to do this week and was I staying on next month? Huh? I told her I didn't know. I mean, who tells the temp anything? I'd be the last to know, I'm sure.

She then revealed that another processor, who�d been helping out our team, was now setting up Milton�s loans. Oops? They're giving my work to a perm? Crap. Crap. Crap. I know I complain about this job a lot, but I actually need the paycheck. I'm poor, y'all.

So, now I'm all paranoid and hoping they haven't noticed how much time I spend on the Internet. My boss has told me several times that she's happy with me, so if I get re-assigned; hopefully I'll at least get a good reference out of it.

It's funny, even though this is a temp job, I've been here so long that I forgot that I could go at any time. It keeps things fresh and exciting, I guess. Or something. Another assignment might be all right. Or it might suck worse.

Gah! Right this second; Milton is calling in for a payoff quote, which is something I usually do. I should also mention, it's now 12:30pm and I'm completely out of work to do. What the hell is going on? And how much does it suck to be stressed about losing something that I don't even want?

***************************************

Bookish.

So, currently I'm reading an old favorite by Dorothy Gilman called Uncertain Voyage. It's my car book- a book I keep in the car in case of emergencies. Am I a nerd or what? But you never know when you'll be stuck somewhere and need something to read. I forgot my regular book the other day, so I had to resort to reading my car book on my lunch break. I got sucked in (again) and now I'm reading it for the fourth time.

To further my nerdliness, I went to the library on my lunch break today and checked out:

- The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
- Mountain Bike Like a Champion by Ned Overend (Oh, shut up.)
- Adam and Eve and Pinch Me by Ruth Rendell

I always feel rich when I leave the library with a stack of new hopefuls. I don't know which one to read first! The Rendell is a 2 week non-renewable so I should probably read it first, but I've been dying to get my hands on The Lovely Bones. The mountain bike book I'll probably just read bit by bit, in between whatever else I'm reading. I will occasionally read up to three books at once, but one will usually grip me more than the others and take precedence.

So here's a challenge to my readers: email me or post in my guestbook and tell me what your favorite book is and why I should read it (if I haven't already). I'll make it my summer challenge to read all of them! Unless your favorite is by Billie Letts, Ayn Rand or Henry James, in which case, I cannot help you. And, in return, you must all read one book from my list of favorites, which I've posted below. Deal? Bring it on.

My Favorites:

1. Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
2. Harriet The Spy by Louise Fitzhugh
3. The Color Purple by Alice Walker
4. Time and Again by Jack Finney
5. The Stand by Stephen King
6. The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken
7. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
8. For Kicks (or anything else) by Dick Francis
9. A Good Man is Hard to Find by Flannery O'Connor
10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
11. I Capture The Castle by Dodie Smith
12. Grand Ambition by Lisa Michaels
13. Emma by Jane Austen
14. Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand
15. To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis

***************************************

Links O' Entertainment.

This one is for Kate. Creed Sued over Drunken Singer. Ha!

Another article about Buffy, in which Joss hints at a possible Buffy movie?

Eeee! Fox Planning Beverly Hills, 90210 Reunion!! Eee!!

Here's a list of upcoming summer movies. I want to see Matchstick Men (with Sam Rockwell!), Seabiscuit, Pirates of the Caribbean (Johnny Depp and Orlando Bloom as pirates! How could that be bad?), Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines and Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle. I'm torn on seeing Identity because, while John Cusack is a plus, Jake Busey is a big, big minus. Can't do Busey. Have Busey phobia.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com