Jingle Clunk.
Tuesday, Apr. 22, 2003 @ 3:58 p.m.

As I think I've mentioned eight or nine times already, my beige cubelette faces a bank of huge windows which look out on to an idyllic landscape of recently-lush green trees and blue sky. I look out and find I'm jealous of the birds. They mock me with their freedom to fly around outside. I'm jealous of the damn birds because they're free, man. I'm not free. I'm a corporate slave-drone who can only dream of being outside.

However, my bike and gear is shoved in the back of my car and when I get out of here today I'm going to the woods to ride! Yay! Screw Tha Man for trying to keep me down! My ass is going outside, at, uh, 4:30pm, and you can't stop me! Yeah.

Update, 12:45pm: Dark clouds are rolling in. No! Rain bad! Not supposed to RAIN!

************************************

More of the Same.

I'm so annoyed by my co-workers today (I know! Shocking!) because they're just making noise and moving around too much. I wish everyone would just sit the hell down and be quiet. Is it really too much to ask? Am I being unreasonable in wishing they'd all just stop moving altogether?

My boss wears her name tag, swipe card, ID badge and who knows what else on a lanyard around her neck, so she makes a jingly-clunk noise with every step. This is usually beneficial because I sit with my back to the traffic and I like that I can here her coming. However, she�s been jingle-clunking all morning and it�s fraying my nerves. Here she comes. *minimize* I know I've also mentioned her deeply grating suuhthun accent, which makes me cringe daily.

With Milton today, it's the usual. The mumbling, the back-and-forth, the slamming of filing cabinet doors, the deep, put-upon sighs. I just wish he'd settle down and stop PUNCHING his phone keypad like he's trying to punish it.

Cube neighbor to my right is always snarky and delightful, and cube neighbor on my left is usually fine. Usually. Today he's regaling us all with a deep and phlegmy sniff every few minutes. Kleenex are your friends. Please get to know them better.

Smarmy's replacement is so dull she might as well not be here. She's like the Boy With The Purple Socks from Harriet The Spy-- So dull I can't even be bothered to learn her name. I'm horrible.

************************************

In celebration of TV Turnoff Week, here are some television-related links. I'll be watching extra TV this week because I don't appreciate being told not to.

I am so excited about Manor House! I loved 1900 House and this one looks like it's going to be even more entertaining, with it's upstairs/downstairs vibe. (link courtesy of Fresh-Hell)

Inside the Actor's Studio- The Cast of "The Simpsons" was on last night and it was fascinating. There's something really surreal about hearing five different character's voices in a row coming out of Harry Sherer's mouth. How does he do it?

Apparently some freaks only watch one TV show a week. Just one. Smug bastards. (link courtesy of Lots of Co.)

Ooh, I didn't watch Mr. Personality last night, but after reading this article, I think I'm going to have to start. What a train wreck!

Buffy: It's A Wrap. (link courtesy of tv tattle)

************************************

Sorry about the short entry today. My boss has been helping the person who sits across the aisle, which means she's had a clear view of my monitor for most of the day. Jingly-clunk.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com