I'm a Creep, I'm a Weirdo.
Monday, Apr. 14, 2003 @ 4:20 p.m.

I so dragged myself into work this morning. I felt like I was walking to my own execution or something. It's as if a little bit of life gets sucked out of me during the work week and I spend the whole weekend trying to get it back. Then it's Monday again and the whole process starts over. It's very tiresome.

My weekend was good, though. Lots of biking in the beautiful weather, hanging out with friends, shopping with my sister and some light spring cleaning to clear my conscience. Also! I sold some clothes on consignment and made the partial purchase (ahem, layaway) of a fantastic pair of Kenneth Cole Reaction shoes that I've been stalking for a month. They're beautiful. I'll have to take a picture of them when they're out of hock.

Also, happy birthday to Kenny! I hope he's having a good day at work. I think everyone should automatically get a paid birthday holiday. That would rule.

*****************************

I Don't Belong Here.

God, I'm boring. I'm sitting here at work trying to think of something amusing or witty to write about and it's just not happening. I can't even cheat and do a list because I did that on Friday. I mean, damn, one of my weekend highlights involved putting a pair of shoes on layaway. They're really cute shoes though. I'm boring. I'm really, really boring.

I'm also a little pathetic. Here's the thing: I've made a friend or two at every job I've ever had. They may not always end up being people I hang out with after I leave the job, but I've always had work friends. Until now.

I'm completely out of my element here. I don't eat fast food every day or talk about my kids non-stop. I don't even have kids. I'm abnormally active and sporty; I like art and current music and I don't give a crap about what I drive. Also, I really, really don't care for Disney apparel.

Now, before you start thinking I'm the world's biggest and most judgmental bitch, understand that I'm aware that a person's choice in what to wear and eat is not the sum total of their personality. It's just that I stick out like a sore thumb here and, while people are friendly to me, nobody is even close to being my friend. It's been six months and I'm at a loss.

It doesn't help that I work with a truly weird bunch. Right now Milton is (literally) making moaning noises at his ringing phone. Earlier he slammed his fist on his desk so hard that we all jumped. Geeze.

It sucks to not have anyone to snark with, or at least have lunch with. There's hope though! Remember my tuna sandwich story from last week? No? Never mind, It was boring. Anyway, the girl in front of me was denied a portabella sandwich and I suggested a Gardenburger. We then chatted for a minute about vegetarian options. She was dressed in a cute, funky way and looked like my kind of people. I remember wishing she worked at Bank of X.

And, ta-da! She does! I saw her in the parking lot today! I've decided she needs to be my work friend, but I have no idea how to make this happen without coming off like a complete creep. Plus, there are 800+ people in this building and I have no idea what section she works in. Am I a freak for mentally stalking this girl with the intention of making her my work friend? I promise I will not request that she put the lotion in the basket. Hahha. Wait, that's creepy. Damn!

*****************************

Links Go Here.

Milton should go to The Spark and take The Stress Test. Actually, I took the liberty of taking it for him and he's only 25% stressed out! That has to be wrong. I guessed on a lot of the questions.

The Lotion and the Basket, online journal of Jame "Buffalo Bill" Gumb.

Eeee! Here's an article about the Buffy finale. Be warned, it's full of spoilers!

Happy Birthday, Kenny!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com