Bossa Nova, Baby.
Thursday, Apr. 10, 2003 @ 4:08 p.m.

Hi there, I'm in a much better mood today than I have been all week long. I went to the gym after work last night and I frightened the elliptical trainer with my super-power self. Then Kenny and I picked up Noah and Angela and went out to eat really excellent Italian food at Edo's Squid. They have an eggplant parmesan that is it's own religion, it's so good.

It was nice catching up with them and as usual, Angela and I bonded over our lingering former-overly-eager-geeky-girl angst. As she put it: "It's impossible to be really excited about stuff and also be seen as cool." So right.

Anyway, after dinner we all loaded ourselves back into the Nova for the ride home. I headed down the street and almost immediately a car pulled out right in front of me. My road-rage fully engaged, I yelled something like "What the HELL are you doing, FUCKER?!" Then I slammed the heel of my palm on my car horn in an angry way, to show I meant business! Yeah!

hhhHHhhhunnooounk.

What? When honk your car's horn, you expect a noise like HOOOONKKK! or even BEEEEPPPP! but what came out of my car sounded more like an old man blowing his nose. It sounded like a sad, wistful, little fart. phhhfhuHhhhunnooock. Needless to say, everyone LOST IT. Kenny, Noah and Angela started laughing helplessly, while I feebly told them to stop making fun of my poor car and did they want to walk home?

Then, Noah started singing "Time to Change" ala Peter Brady and that's when I lost it too. So there, you have it- four of us packed in a tiny Nova, laughing in that uncontrolled, holy-crap-my-stomach-hurts, tears rolling down the face way, me barely able to drive and occasionally honking the horn to freshen up the hilarity.

And now, oh glorious morning, in which I kicked ass and took names. I got up at the ungodly hour of 6:00am, so that I could get to the muffler shop at 7:15am and (hopefully) get a new muffler and a state inspection while I waited.

I expected to be waiting for hours, but damn if they didn't have me taken care of and out the door by 8:15am. I wasn't even late for work! This sort of auto service is unheard of and I feel like I should buy them cupcakes or puppies or something.

This shop is family owned and run and they're SO nice. At one point, one of the guys carried my muffler in and stuck a flashlight in it so I could see for myself that it needed replacing. I love that he assumed I knew what the inside of a muffler should look like. Hahaha. Anyway.

The waiting room was right off the shop, so I could hear all kinds of thunks and BBBWWEEEERRPP sounds as as they worked. Then, during a lull, I heard a sad and plaintive sound:

huuHhhhunnooonck. HhhhooOonuuuk. HhhonnHounnnnnnnk. HhhhooOonuuuk.

Hahaha! I almost died. They were testing my horn and they keep honking it over and over, as if they couldn't believe how ridiculous it sounded. It made my morning. Anyway, my car passed inspection, fluky horn and all, and that's all that really matters. I heart my little Nova.

*********************************

You Ate Sand?

Bahh, my lunch of choice has been foiled twice this week. I went to the cafe at Ukrops in quest of a grilled tuna steak sandwich that Kenny told me about. It's a special this week and it sounded really good.

I went Tuesday and there was a sign right on the counter advertising the tuna steak sandwich special. I ordered it from the less-than-friendly cafe grill lady. She looked at me blankly for a second and then said they didn't have any more. Huh, well, maybe you should take the sign down, lady. Urkops is a grocery store! Surely there's a tuna steak somewhere in the building, but whatever.

Today I went back and the sign was still up. Yay! I asked the same lady for the tuna steak sandwich (after she was done telling the girl in front of me that they were out of the portabella sandwich).

She looked at me like I was some kind of moron and said "we don't have any. The steaks are frozen" as if I was a big moron for not knowing. And hello, the sign? Still up. Blarg. I think I'm going to keep going back and trying to order it just to be a pain in the ass.

*********************************

Linkizzle.

Aw man, no wonder I haven't been able to find the latest issue of Sports Illustrated Women. It went under. Sucks! It was the only women's magazine dedicated to women's sports, rather than just fitness.

Ha! Survivor betting scandal! Who even knew people wagered on reality tv shows? Be careful, there's a potential spoiler at the end of the article.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com