Do Over!
Friday, Apr. 04, 2003 @ 4:21 p.m.

Yay! It's Friday again, right on time. I'm insanely busy at work today, but that's not going to stop me from writing another sub-par journal entry. See how much I love you? I love you so much that I am willing to take time out of my low-paid, temporary loan processing duties, just to entertain you. You feel special, don't you. Right then.

This weekend is officially a do-over of last weekend, because last weekend Sucked. So. Bad. The goal this weekend? Fun. FUN WILL BE HAD, even if I have to bare my teeth and fake it, but I don't think it will come to that. For one thing, the weather's supposed to be seasonal, rather than seasonally self-loathing.

It's also going to be a jam-packed and busy weekend, as many things I meant to do last week have gotten shuffled around because I was sick. I'm feeling better, by the way. Still unpleasantly phlegmy, but definitely on the mend. The stress-related stomach pains (or maybe Amy's Organic-related stomach pains) I'm currently suffering from are sure to dissipate as soon as I get a whiff of fresh air and sunshine. God damn, is it really only 3:20pm? I hate when I don't get a lunch break.

As part of the weekend do-over, I'm going to give the bike race thing another go. There's a race on Sunday and I have every intention of being there. Flying monkeys couldn't stop me! I have a temp badge!

**************************

Signs of Spring in the Loan Center.

Ah hahaha aha. An email was sent around the loan center stating that we could wear shorts on Fridays ("no cut-offs or hot pants". Hot pants? Woo!) for the low, low price of $1.00. For real? We have to pay to wear shorts? I assume the money goes to charity or something, but they didn't actually say that. Milton asked which one of us would pay him a buck to not wear shorts. Haha.

I cannot wait to see what kind of horror gets worn around here when the weather gets warm, as many employees do not understand the concept of "office appropriate attire". There isn't much of a dress code to begin with, but logic must tell you that a crop top with skin-tight jeans is not the look that says "don't lay me off".

Also, today I was handed the first-ever issue of Spirit Express...Get on Board!, which is, apparently, a loan center indoctrination newsletter they just started up. It's really, really sad, y'all. I wish I could just scan the whole thing and show you, but that's probably not a good idea.

I've mentioned various aspects of the ongoing "Spirit Training" here, and this newsletter is allll about Spirit! Holy crap. The main article consists of profiles of the "spirit leaders", in which they each state what Spirit means to them.

"I come to work with a lot of Spirit to share. I'm high on life. May the Spirit get you too!"

"I think Spirit makes it happen!"

"Spirit, to me, means what is on the inside of a person, or corporation!"

Oh, damn. I think they really mean it too. They believe Spirit! is really important and that the company cares about them like a big corporate family. Maybe I'm just jaded by how many times my corporate family has laid me off, but it makes me a little angry to see people buy into this so readily. Or maybe they're just faking it because that's the easiest thing to do?

**************************

Here's a cool article about the Best Products showrooms. The building I'm temping in, which I talked about in this entry, was the original headquarters for Best Products. (link courtesy of the excellent Scrubbles.net)

You kids really seem to like The Spark's tests, so here's another one: The Slut Test.

Don't forget to check out the dullest blog in the world.

Have a good do-over weekend!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com