Some Stuff About Stuff.
Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003 @ 4:44 p.m.

Some Stuff about Stuff.

Let's start with:

Work Stuff.

He's doing it again. Milton is doing that thing where he prints something, gets up, sighs deeply (or clears his throat loudly, a new addition!), scurries past me to go to the printer, returns, sits down, immediately prints something else, gets up, sighs deeply, scurries past me to go to the printer, returns, sits down. Rinse and repeat. It drives me fucking mad, mostly because I have to minimize my screen every time he does this. I can't even finish a thought between his obsessive little printer journeys.

I feel. Like I'm writ. Ting. Like this. All. The time, you. Know?

Gah, listen to me! Am I the only one who's this annoyed by the petty movements of my co-workers? I think it's these low-walled, my-back-is-to-the-walkway, work stations. I have no privacy at all and I'm forced to work from a tiny little minimized window. I have no idea what half the sites I read actually look like because I only view them in a window the size of a postage stamp. (It's one of the bigger postage stamps, like the Love stamp or the Andy Warhol stamp, but still, a stamp-sized work space is not massive.)

*************************************

TV Stuff.

There wasn't much on TV last night, so we flipped back and forth between Married By America (disturbing), High Fidelity (funny, but why not British? The book takes place in England! Why does Hollywood always have to Americanize everything?) and Fear Factor (dear God).

Last night's Fear Factor was extra, super-duper nasty. Sticking needles in people's arms? Maggoty cheese? Comparatively, the other two stunts didn't look bad at all. Shimmy out on a pole, 20 stories above the ground? You bet! Maggoty cheese? Holy GOD. I need money, but I can guaran-damn-tee you I wouldn't be eating that skank cheese. People will do any crazy thing to be on TV.

Which brings us to Married by America. It's so wrong, and yet, I watch. I'm so sure 25-year-old Mr. J Crew is having trouble finding a date. Please. These kids just want to be on television and that's all there is to it. Marriage my ass. Also, do these people have any clue who the voting public is? And how vengeful they can be? Shiny young fools.

*************************************

Book Stuff.

I'm currently reading An Italian Affair by Laura Fraser, which is a non-fiction travel narrative and a romance all in one book. It's perfect escapist reading and it makes me a) want to travel to warm, beachy places and b) want to eat amazing Italian food.

I'm also still reading Lost Horizon which was starting to get really, really good, so I put it down for a few days to make it last. (I'm a dork.) Interesting Lost Horizon trivia: It was the first book ever published in paperback form in 1939. (Stop kicking sand in my face.)

I've also just started reading Nick Hornsby's High Fidelity, which Kate lent me because I liked About a Boy so much. In the spirit of High Fidelity, here are my Top Five* Most Loved Books:

1) Harriet The Spy by Louise Fitzhugh
2)The Color Purple by Alice Walker
3)Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier
4)Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
5)The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken
6)Time and Again (Jack Finney)

* Or six. Sue me.

*************************************

Girl Stuff.

Currently I'm totally crazy about Kiss My Face Apha & Aloe lotion. It's oil free, unscented, and has 5% AHA, so your skin will glow all purty if you use it a lot.

I've also been using this crazy Mentadent toothbrush that has a wavy rubber thing (sorry, a "whitening ribbon") in the center of the bristles. It sort of squeegees my teeth and makes them feel very, very clean. I don't think it really whitens though.

The fancy toothbrush is best used with Tom's of Maine toothpaste. I love this stuff! It doesn't have that cloying aspartame ick most toothpastes have and it comes in good flavors like Cinnamint and Fennel. Shut up, I am not a hippie.

*************************************

Crazy Stuff.

Because we needed more proof that Michael Jackson is insane.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com