I Just Work Here.
Monday, Mar. 03, 2003 @ 5:06 p.m.

I Just Work Here.

Hi. Mind if I complain about my job situation? Ha ha? Ha ha hahahahaha?

So, last night I applied for a job that was sparklingly titled "Research Clerk". Wow, that sounds like it has potential, doesn't it? It probably pays a lot too. I'll pretty much apply to anything with the word "research" in it. It's like my hobby now or something, collecting and applying to lame jobs.

I estimate that I've sent out approximately 100 copies of my resume in the last year. I've had three in-person interviews. Three. That really give a girl hope, you know? I wasn't really even crazy about those three jobs either, but you really can't be picky in this stupid, butt-head of an economy.

From those 100 resumes, I mostly got nothing back. No letter, no phone call, nothing. Hell, one of the jobs I interviewed for never even bothered to let me know the job got eaten by budget cuts. Thanks! Because, you know, I just thought it would be fun to spend money on a suit and watch your little video and nod my head like a monkey while you tell me what you're about. And that follow-up call I made? Why didn't you just tell me then? Why did you lie to me? Cowards. I want my hand-written thank you note back. Ugh.

I have a "personal" section at the bottom of my resume that says this:

My password is never �password�. I�m sharp, well-read, funny as hell, and fascinated by the way things work. I participate in women�s mountain bike races for fun and collect out-of-print books for the thrill of the hunt. I have the background of an artist and the brain of a research geek and use both to seek out creative, dynamic solutions to any challenge put before me.

I judge the jobs I apply for by whether I leave that section on or not. I want a job working for someone who reads it and laughs. That's not asking too much, is it? Ha ha?

Oh, and the next well-meaning individual who says "well, have you tried Monster.com?" dies.

************************************

I did pretty much everything I thought I would this weekend. Movie rentals included The Good Girl and Take the Money and Run both of which were really good. Kenny pointed out that The Good Girl was obviously influenced by Raising Arizona, which is one of our favorites. My comment on Take the Money and Run is this: Woody Allen was really funny back when his shtick was fresh. (Edit: I realized later that it was maybe Kate who said this and I just sucked it into my brain and made it my own. Oops? Anyway, I agree with Kate.)

I also went and saw Daredevil which was enjoyable fluff wrapped in a muscular, red leather outfit. Not so bad. I'm not really a fan of comic books, so I don't know how accurate it was, but, really, I didn't go to scrutinize. For me, it was all about the red leather costume.

************************************

The building where I work was built in the 1970's by a company who's owners loved all things modern. They collected modern and contemporary art, some of which is still hanging in the building. There are Janet Fish paintings in the cafe, for example, which I think is excellent.

The building itself is huge and is comprised of several 3-story rectangles that are connected by pointy glass atriums. It has lots of funky, tinted windows and the entire building is covered with triangular tiles. It's really quite ugly, but it's not boring.

Either way, it's extremely modern, which is why I was so disturbed, this morning, to see the new lamp posts being installed along the main walkway that leads from the parking lot to the entrance. They're giant, decorative, black wrought-iron retro lamp posts! They're Victorian! The hell?

Who's in charge? I want to find this person and have a little talk about aesthetics. Really, who pairs 70's modern architecture with jolly olde England? People just have no concept of design.

******************************************

I Miss Money
Have I linked to this entry before? Probably, but Pamie always makes me laugh. She gets it.

This online clock is cool in a pointless way.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com