Mee-Ow!
Friday, Feb. 28, 2003 @ 2:45 p.m.

Mee-Ow!

Yay, weekend! As per usual, it's supposed to rain all freaking weekend, so again, no mountain bike. That's okay. I still can't wait to have two days off to putter. Weekend plans include:

-The usual sushi and video night w/ Kenny
-Going to the gym. A lot.
-Scouring thrift stores for eBay books
-Hanging out with Kate
-Dinner with my sister and brother-in-law
-Maybe going to see Daredevil
-Watching the season premiere of Six Feet Under

I am a 24 hour party girl, aren't I?

*****************************************

I had dinner last night with Noah and Angela and we got to talking about my journal. Noah observed that if you didn't know me in real life, but read my journal, you probably think I'm kind of a bitch. Well, I guess my journal does reflects my inner-bitch (who's alive and well, for sure), but generally I'm a pretty nice person.

Yes, I get catty about the laziness (and sometimes footwear choices) of others, but mostly I try to keep my mean thoughts to myself and treat other people with respect. I'm friendly to retail workers, I tip well, I signal lane changes and I've been known to slip an extra quarter into a random parking meter that's almost out of time.

I think this journal is just a very small cross-section of who I am. I'm never going to talk about my sex life (too private), I'm never going to tell you my dreams (too boring), and I probably won't talk too much about the things I fear the most (too personal).

I want entertain you. I want to make you laugh and snicker along with me about, say, the absurdity of Helen Hunt's hairstyle. I will continue to bust on celebrities and co-workers because it's a private, harmless sort of fun, just between you and me. They never have to know, right?

But mostly, this journal is allowing me to use the creative part of my brain while being stuck for 8 hours a day in a completely uncreative atmosphere. In short: I'm bored. Meow.

*****************************************

Hiss.

I was eavesdropping in the break room the other day and I heard a discussion about cats vs dogs. Naturally, there was an anti-cat person who talked about how they're not affectionate like dogs, and concluded with "cats have no purpose."

No purpose? The hell? They're pets! They're companions! What the hell does she want from them? Does her dog have a purpose? Does it moonlight as a seeing-eye dog or sniff for hidden drugs on the weekends? I doubt it.

All I require from my cats is that they occasionally sit in my lap and let me play with their toes. I'd also like to be allowed to kiss them when they're sleeping all curled up like a danish. That's their purpose, to let me adore them.

As for the "not as affectionate" comment, tell that to Stella who practically does back flips off the newel post every night when I walk through the door. It's not about food either, she honestly seems happy to see me (though, like all our cats, she loves Kenny more).

Sure, she's not going to jump on me and try to lick my face, but why would she? That's very un-cat-like behavior. Cats have a sense of dignity and they don't like being ridiculous. Have you ever seen a cat over-react to a loud noise and then look embarrassed? I love that.

Last night my friend Angela gave me a Curious George jack-in-the-box, and the cats were fascinated by it. I'd turn the handle slowly and, hearing the music, they'd creep over and sniff the box. Then, when the POP happened they'd all sproing backwards in horror. Over and over and over again. Who says cats aren't fun?

*****************************************

Yowl!

Buffy's Over. Sob.
(link courtesy of Fresh-Hell.com)

"I'm proud of what this show means (except for that whole weird 'Feminist' thing people attached to it. What was that all about? Girls are stupid.) I truly believe that in years to come, people will look back and say 'That was a show that was on TV.' Yessir. I truly do."
-Joss Whedon

*****************************************

Purrr.

Check out Rate My Kitten!

How evil are you?
(link courtesy of lotsofco.org, who's neutral.)

I'm good. Not even a little bit evil. See? I told you so.

*****************************************

Fred Rogers 1928-2003

Thank you for loving us just the way we are.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com