Classy Bitch
Friday, Feb. 21, 2003 @ 3:33 p.m.

Classy Bitch.

Uuhhhhh, lactose, how could you? My stomach is roiling (wait, is that a word? Yep, I checked, it's most definitely a word. To be in a state of turbulence or agitation . Yes, yes). Bad fake Cappuccino! Bad bad bad!

What? Oh, hi! Welcome to my Friday entry! I think Friday's are my favorite entry days, because I'm generally in a good mood and I tend to start the weekend in my mind at about 9am. Physically, I'm at work, but mentally I'm at a crazy party somewhere. A party with candy. And pony rides. And paddle boats. And presents, definitely presents. And a DJ who knows to play Rock Lobster and knows not to play The Macarena. My kind of gig.

***************************************

Oh man, the first thing I saw on the news this morning was the story about the Rhode Island club fire. It's so tragic and so easily could have been avoided. One person makes a bad call and 86+ people die horrible deaths. It just makes me so angry. And sad.

(Note: it feels weird to sandwich this news between light-hearted stuff, but I didn't know where else to put it and I couldn't just not mention it.)

***************************************

So last night, I went to the CD release party for Pop Culture Casualties (described here as "intelligent indie pop" which I think is exactly right). It was a fun night and they kicked ass as only they can. Plus, they have sock monkeys on their album cover, designed by my friend Noah. Check out their website and buy stuff! Make them famous so I can look cool by say I knew them back when. (Because it's all about me, you know. I'm a classy bitch*.)

I was also impressed by the opening band, Restoring Poetry In Music. They mix hip-hop and jazz in a very cool and soulful way. Good stuff.

*Classy Bitch: what Kate's drunk cousin called her and her sister (with an added hair flip). She meant it in a good way, we think. It was decided that perhaps I am a classy bitch too and now we can all be classy bitches together. Kate thinks t-shirts are in order.

If you Google "classy bitch", This is the first hit you get.

*****************************************

As if I didn't have enough car trauma this week with the dead battery, yesterday I locked my keys in my car. I think the only thing stupider than locking your keys in your car is locking your keys in the car while it's running. (which I haven't done. Yet.)

I took my lunch break in the car yesterday and I remember throwing the keys on the passenger seat and making a mental note to not forget them. Mental note. Hahahaa. Right. I'm going to have to get some mental Post-Its and tape (hahaha, Milton) them to my forehead, uh, mentally.

Anyway, I went out to my car at 5:30pm, and discovering that my keys were not in my pocket or my other pocket or my purse or my tote bag, I peered through the window and saw my keys. Goddamn. There they were, shiny and comfortable on the passenger seat. Wait, are they mocking me? They are! Little bastards. Little bastard keys, mocking me from inside the car. I'll show them.

So, I had to call Kenny and ask him to come rescue me. I hated having to do it but he was really nice about it. I'm so freaking glad this week is almost over and I'm thinking maybe my luck can change now? Please?

Ah, Bowie's "Golden Years" is playing right now. That can only be a good sign. Oops, while I was writing that the tread fell off my boot heel. Bad sign. (Why do my damn shoes keep falling apart? I just walk in them, you know? Shit, I should just wear nothing but Docs like I did in college.)

*****************************************

why can't you do it?
why can't you set your monkey free?
always giving in to it-
do you love the monkey or do you love me?

Sock Monkey as a fashion accessory!
(link courtesy of brigita.blogspot.com)

Sock monkey bikini!

Sock monkey stole!

Sock monkey scarf!

I love how deadpan all the models are. How can you sling a string of monkeys over your shoulder and not laugh?

Have a good weekend, all!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com