I'm All Over The Place.
Wednesday, Feb. 05, 2003 @ 4:55 p.m.

I'm All Over The Place.

I make a point to take my lunch break every day, unlike the rest of the bunch I work with. For one thing, I'm not paid for that hour and for another, I hate eating lunch at my desk. I'd rather sit in my car, which I occasionally do. Sometimes I'll eat lunch out then drive back and read in my car until the hour's up.

I did that today and was looking forward to a quiet half-hour to read my book. Ha. Not to be. I'd just pulled into a great parking spot (ie. not 5 miles from the entrance) and was just settling down for a peaceful read when the horrible noise hit me.

The wanker sitting in the car two spaces over had just settled in for his lunchtime ritual, which consisted of chain-smoking while blasting the Grateful Dead at top volume with his windows open. Asshole! I could've handled Metallica or Black Sabbath or even The Blackstreet Boys, but the Dead? Please puncture my eardrums. If you, my reader, are a Dead fan, all I can say is I'm truly sorry you have such crappy taste in music.

************************************************

Girly Stuff

I've always been a closet girly-girl, even when I was claiming to be a low-maintenance tomboy. I like makeup, I like to shop and I like to read silly fashion magazines. I care about my eyebrows, the cut of my jeans and I like to avoid the dreaded camel-toe. It's definitely a guilty pleasure in some ways because I'm also interested in things that actually matter and I don't want to be taken less seriously because I have four different shades of lipgloss in my bag. Everyone needs silly fun stuff, right?

So, in the spirit of girly-girlness, here's what I'm enamored with lately:

-Dandelion, basically, it's cutely packaged pink face powder, but it gives such a lovely, I'm-not-dead kinda glow. BeneFit can make me want to buy anything with it's adorable packaging and cut-throat-cute marketing, I swear.

-Aveeno Daily Moisturing Lotion. It's not glamorous, but it moisturizes like crazy and comes in an unscented version, which is a huge plus for me.

-Paula's Choice skincare. It's no-nonsense, inexpensive, not tested on animals, completely unscented and, most importantly, it works. Plus, if you email them, they'll send samples!

- Jo Malone fragrances. I have Nutmeg & Ginger (smells amazing and spicy without being sweet) but I also desire Grapefruit. Jo Malone isn't sold in Richmond which satisfies my inner you-can't-buy-my-signature-scent snob. Ha.

-There's also a red Marc Jacobs handbag in this month's Marie Claire that I adore, but it's $875? Hahahaha? Ha? That's a good one! Hahahahaahaa! I shall now go pet my container of Dandelion and let it comfort me with it's shimmery pinkness. I'm insane. Yes.

************************************************

Completely unrelated to anything I've talked about today link:

The Introvert's Lexicon, a great link I stole from my new favorite site: lotsofco.org

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com