Another Year Older...
Thursday, Jan. 16, 2003 @ 4:14 p.m.

Another year older and what do you get....

a cold, I think. Not a pony, that's for damn sure. It's my birthday and, as always, I'm suddenly mentally 10 years old again. The 10 year old in me wants a party with games and an ice cream cake from Baskin-Robbins with plastic ponies dancing across it and presents and bags of favors and a pi�ata full of really good candy.

But then, if I get all these things, I suddenly don't want them and I'm embarrassed by the attention. Then I'm crying and I hate the dumb melty cake and I'm wearing a stupid dress because my mom made me and I hate it!

Every birthday I've ever had has been like this- wanting everyone to remember and make a fuss, then being worried that no one will remember, then (when everyone does remember) feeling bad, like I forced them all do it. I usually get over this pretty fast and end up totally enjoying whatever my birthday brings. Plus, I have amazing friends and family who are absolutely loyal and never disappoint.

Okay, one more whiny b-day rant and then I'll move on, I promise:

Nobody here at work knows it's my birthday. I deliberately didn't tell them because I'd rather have it ignored out of ignorance than indifference. There's another woman on my "team" who started a few weeks after I did and when her birthday rolled around, the Unsocialized Three heard about it and vaguely said "oh. It's your birthday?" (correction: Milton said exactly nothing.)

Nice. I'd honestly rather keep it to myself, even if it means being kind of miserable and resentful about having to act like it's a normal, everyday kind of day. Hopefully when I start my new job I'll be working with more outgoing people, because it's still weird to arrive in the morning and be greeted by silence.

Sometimes I just want to walk in and scream "GOOD MORNING, FOOLS!" just to see what kind of reaction I'll get.

*******************************************

Let the mocking commence!

So I've been watching Joe Millionaire, and I have to wonder, what was every, single person on this show thinking? Also, why is Alex McLeod even on the show? She's such a black hole of talentless suck. The television hates her and I don't know why she's still getting work. It's not even personal, she just has no presence and every single time she makes an appearance, I think "wait, who's that?" I like the butler, though. He cracks me up.

Memo to Evan: Dude. This is not the way to meet a girl who doesn't care about money. Every single girl on the show is there for a rich guy. I had no idea that so many women still wanted to "be taken care of." Ick.

A "relationship" based on a reality-show-perpetuated lie is such a great idea, don't you think? However it's my opinion that Evan is just doing this for the exposure. He's already done some modeling (snork) and even though he seems happy as the artiste de la terre, he must in this for the money too.

*******************************************

Okay, enough about that, now back to me. ME ME ME. It's MY BIRTHDAY and here's what I want:

*One of these

*Ooh, definitely one of these

*I'd look damn good on this...

*And this would look damn good on me.

*Also this!

Later, monkey butts!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com