I am not made of stars.
Thursday, Jan. 09, 2003 @ 4:31 p.m.

I am not made of stars.

I have this amazing friend who lives in Los Angeles, and knowing what a star fucker I am, she'll often regale me with jealous-making stories of her celebrity run-ins. She doesn't seem to mind my demanding that she tell me every bit of dirt she knows about whichever celebrity is in the news. Because of her, I knew the low-down on Winona Ryder's shoplifting way before the details came out publicly. She rules. I love when she tells me something like "I went to this party the other night and I was standing next to Missy Elliott and Anna Nicole Smith was there and I talked to David Cross!"

I. Eat. It. Up.

I cannot imagine what it would be like, living in a place like LA. I can't imagine going to my gym and doing yoga alongside Drew Barrymore or standing in line behind Johnny Depp at Starbucks. I'd be a dorkified nervous wreck all the time.

So anyway, my LA friend writes me a few days ago to tell me that she ran into George Clooney and Sam Rockwell at a bar the other night. Doesn't that sound casual? Holy crap. She knows of my adoration of Sam Rockwell and was going to, get this, have him call me. Call me. On the phone. Alas, she decided it was too late in the evening to call the east coast. Stupid east coast.

Hi, Sam? Call me. Any time. At all.

I gave her my cell number and told her to go find Sam and put a phone in his hand, STAT. She made no promises but said she'd see what she could do. A phone call from Sam Rockwell would make everything so much more excellent. It would make my year. Hot damn. So note to my friends, don't call me. I need to keep the line free for an important call. I'll be here Sam. Waiting.

***************

By comparison, I live a most unglamorous life in Richmond, VA, the biggest star fucker town, ever. A lot of movies are made here, mainly because Richmond looooooooves the famous and will gladly kiss Hollywood's ass if they'll just come here (pleaseohplease) and film a movie. Richmond loves recognition. Richmond wants so badly to be famous, but will take what it can get.

Often the movies made here are period films, and I found out recently that a few scenes of Cold Mountain were filmed here, which means Jude Law (who I love even more than Sam Rockwell) was, for a brief and shining moment, within my grasp. Or, would've been if I'd actually heard about it WHILE it was happening instead of TWO STINKING DAYS LATER. Thanks Richmond-sucky-broadcast-news. Thanks a lot.

To be honest, it's probably a really, really good thing I didn't know about it in time or a) I'd surely have spent some time in jail and b) I'd most certainly not be allowed to come within 200 feet of Mr. Law.

I can just see me, wild-eyed and disheveled, running around the movie set screaming "JUUUUUUDE!" at the top of my lungs. Then, if I actually found him, there would be the embarrassment of having the police physically remove me from his pant legs.

It would be worth it.

Shut up, I'm not a stalker fan. I'd be good at it though.

***************

Don't know who Sam Rockwell is? You will.

GWAR front man Dave Brockie lives in Richmond and loves it.

Aimee Mann grew up in Richmond.

The Cowboy Junkies wrote a song about Richmond.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com