And it's Monday. All. Day.
Monday, Jan. 06, 2003 @ 3:50 p.m.

The Weekend... was so short. I took the new bootcamp class at my gym Saturday and I thought it wasn't hard enough to be labeled "extreme training". However, it was just a dry run and they're still trying to figure out what the routine will be. It was really fun and my shoulders are still feeling the military-style push-ups.

Saturday afternoon I saw Gangs of New York with Christina and we were both really disappointed. The direction was really heavy-handed and it was too long. I don't mind a long movie if it's relevant but this one needed serious editing. The costumes were great though, I will give it that.

Saturday night K and I went to Kate and Justin's house and made pasta and played video games. It's fun to have friends you can just be slack with. No plans are the best plans sometimes.

Sunday was spent making more painful changes to my resume, but every time I work on it, improvement is made. I'm trying to get a job with an amazing company that's not currently hiring, but might be one day soon. Christina hooked me up with a guy who works there and I had a great informational interview with him. He made suggestions on how I can make my resume better and I've been slogging through the really painful, but necessary, revision process.

Sunday was also spent looking through the puny amount of job listings posted online. I came across a listing for a job at the tiny company that laid me off. The company that broke my heart a year ago by giving me a dreamy, excellent job, then taking it away four months later.

So now they're hiring again and while I'm happy they've managed to survive, I'm also little hurt that I wasn't considered. The listing isn't for my old job, but it certainly lists some of my old duties. I don't know, even if it was offered to me I'm not sure I'd take it. You can't really go back and I think I'd always be a little resentful about the layoff and a lot scared that it would happen again.

Being laid off sucks. Having the whole summer off was great, though.

****************************

Milton just received a 100+ page fax and has spent the last 20 minutes obsessively counting the pages and then squaring up the edges. Over and over again. I'm always surprised at how effortlessly he annoys. It's in his blood, even. He comes from clan Annoy! There is a clicking ballpoint pen on the Annoy clan crest and the Annoy tartan has a busy pattern that makes your eyes hurt. Born to Annoy!

****************************

Freaking thank GOD the normal television programming is back. New Boston Public tonight! Even better, new Buffy tomorrow! Whee! I'll also admit that I absolutely plan on watching Joe Millionaire tonight if Kenny will let me. He has a pretty high crap-TV tolerance, but draws the line at the ultra-annoying shows (like the last few seasons of Ally McBeal and Temptation Island.)

****************************

Recently rented: Cherish

Still reading: Pride and Prejudice

Gearing up to read:The Hobbit

I like: the free-weights class at my gym

I dislike: step aerobics

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com