It's Friday....All Day!
Friday, Jan. 03, 2003 @ 3:54 p.m.

It's Friday....All Day!

The best part (hahaha) about my temp job is the view. The building is all by itself right off Interstate 95 and it's surrounded by trees. I'm on the third floor and there are windows across the entire north side wall, so at any time during the day I can look up and see nothing but trees and sky. Very refreshing, and on a pretty day, a bit torturous.

The windows are tinted, so on rainy days (like today) the view is somewhat gloomy and mysterious. Right now I could be looking out on the moors of Yorkshire or some sort of mythical Middle-earth landscape. Today it's also foggy, so the view is especially unearthly: purpley-white sky broken by the vague spidery sillouette of bare trees. It's a little bizarre, considering the cube farm I'm sitting in is the height of beige drab.

The worst part of my temp job? Milton. If you've seen the movie Office Space you should have a pretty good idea of the type of co-worker I'm talking about. He huffs, he mumbles, he complains. Milton is generally a nice guy, but Goddamn, he has horrible office manners.

His main annoying habit involves the telephone. Granted, his phone rings a lot, but damn, it's just a phone! If you're too busy to answer it, don't. That's what voice mail is for.

He is a slave to the damn thing and when it rings a lot, he throws mini temper-tantrums (which includes throwing of papers and pens, huffing, deep, put-upon sighs and general whining) before answering it. He'll usually whine "How can I get anything done if people keep calling me?" He'll say it 20 times a day, as if it's a brand-new original thought each time.

The funniest thing happens when he's walking away from his desk and his phone rings. It's as if there's a rubber band connecting him with his desk and the minute the phone rings he gets snapped backwards. He'll stop dead in his tracks and then fling himself back to his phone. He's whipped by a telephone, folks. It's sad. And funny.

*******************************************

I like: our living room fireplace

I dislike: driving in the rain

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com