Hello, last day of the cruddy year.
Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2002 @ 4:51 p.m.

38 minutes and counting. 38 minutes. Temp Job time goes slower than Normal Job time, especially considering that I had about 30 minutes of actual work to do today. It's like being back at Tredegar when I had all the time in the world to get really acquainted with the Internet (thank you, God. For the Internet). Really, really acquainted, like, running out of Internet acquainted.

The difference is that I have to work on a tiny browser window and hide it every 30 seconds. Great for writing.

Oh! 31 minutes!

Kenny just called to find out what sort of fatty snax I'd purchased for the new year's eve festivities. Here's the list, folks:

-marshmallow Pinwheel cookies

-doughnut holes (assorted flavors)

-tortilla chips

-salsa

-two sad little tomatos

-mexi-cheese

Nice, huh? Mix that with beer and champagne and you have illness abound!

It just occured to me that people might one day be reading this. People I don't know. Here's some stuff about me:

My name is Adrien and I'm 30 years old. (My birthday is next month though, so that'll change soon. I'm startled to be an adult). I'm married to a great guy named Kenny and we have three bad cats named Zephyr, Dido and Stella. We also have a sock monkey named Amblus. (Hence the journal title. Never fear, Amblus will get a more thorough intro later).

I got laid off at the beginning of this year and after 8 glorious months of state subsidized freedom, I finally caved and got a temp job. It's a paycheck. Of sorts.

I like these things: mountain biking, books, sushi, pugs, trashy television, David Bowie, monkeys and various fitness-related activities.

I dislike: centipedes, our current president, raisins, Emeril, eating mammals, geraniums, being taunted for not eating mammals.

Don't forget to write, 2002!

Here's a highlights/lowlights list I posted earlier today on my favorite message board:

Highlights:

-becoming all healthy and fit

-having the whole summer off to play

-winning a mountain bike race

-watching my niece grow up in leaps and bounds

-getting a new back porch and bathroom (greatest landlord ever!)

Lowlights:

-getting laid off

-looking for a job for the entire year with no luck

-temping at a loan center (what? How did this happen?)

-being it debt and not getting ahead

-not buying a house

That sums up the year pretty well, I think.

Ooh! 17 minutes!

One last thing for today, here's to my friend's cat Moo, one of the super-best cats in the world. Rest in peace, sweet Moo. Sadness.

13 minutes.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com