Control freak.
Tuesday, Apr. 17, 2007 @ 3:46 p.m.

Lord above, Virginia. I am so sad today and I hope everyone knows that not all Virginians are behind the president with his incredibly ridiculous and inappropriate statement about upholding our right to bear arms. I hate guns. I hate the idea of guns. I hate that any old crazy can walk into a store and buy two guns and then go shoot a bunch of people in a place where they should feel 100% safe. I think it's INSANE, the argument the gun rights people are spouting, that if EVERYONE was packing, someone would have taken him down. Oh really? We should all be vigilantes? That's the answer?

The way I see it, if gun control was stricter, he wouldn't have been able to buy two fucking guns to begin with. It's hard to go on a shooting spree without a gun to shoot. It's a whole lot harder to kill 32 people with your bare hands. Guns are a coward's weapon and more guns is not the answer to how to prevent the misuse of guns. It makes me completely sick. (And listen, if you're all pro-firearm that's your right, but please don't bother to try and change my mind because you'll be wasting your time.)

Working on a college campus myself makes me even sadder because these students deserve to feel safe in an environment that's meant to be a home away from home. It's awful that nowhere is safe.

I'm going to stop now because I didn't mean to come back to my blog all angry! I have stuff to write about, dumb stuff (of course) but the past two days have made my dumb stuff seem even dumber. Like, I got home yesterday from work and tried to turn on the kitchen light without success. Then I tried to do it again. And again. Only then did it occur to me that none of the lights were working and the house was really cold. DUH. We've had 45 MPH winds and the power was out! Lovely.

I had to go out to a Craft Mafia meeting and photo shoot (in preparation for the Best Show Ever this Sunday:Spring Bada-Bing which you should all attend if you want to stay friends with me) and assumed the power would be back on when I got home. Ha ha. No. I got back around 9:30pm to find Kenny and the cats huddled around the fireplace trying to stay warm. We all sat around and stared at the fire (us) or napped (the cats) and I remarked to Kenny that a fire must have been the best television show ever once upon a time. Eventually we got bored and went to bed because that show is pretty to look at but had no plot at all.

This morning we woke up to a cold dark house with cold water and no coffee. BAD DAY. BAD. My hair is also decidedly un-good. But, really, it's not that bad. Nothing like that really is. Here's a really good thing: Thirteen Moons by Charles Frazier. It's so good I am making myself read it slowly to make it last as long as possible. Cold Mountain is one of my favorite books and I was worried that Thirteen Moons would disappoint me, but so far its phenomenal. The same beautiful descriptive language that made me love CM, but with a more complex story. Heaven. You should go get a copy too.

6 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com