Plague-ridden and Churlish
Wednesday, Dec. 06, 2006 @ 2:05 p.m.

Last night I got my hair cut (finally! It was going in a non-ironic mini mullet direction) and I left the salon stinking to high heaven, but with super-cute swingy shiny hair. This morning I woke up looking like I'd stuck my finger in a socket and all my styling products and fancy drying techniques couldn't put it nearly as right as it was last night. I checked myself out in the bathroom a few minutes ago and it looked positively... lank. I'm also apparently coming down with the plague, but I think that may be because the bathroom has been painted the most noxious shade of minty-sludge green. Who would choose that? Anyway, my new haircut has not received any notice at all from people at work which means that it's (a) boring to the point of nothingness or (b) so horrific that they're embarrassed to call attention to it. I'm not sure which is worse.

I would like to add here that TWICE today really bad pictures of me have been posted online for the world to see and I don't like it. Most pictures of me are bad and if you have one, please, could you refrain from sharing it with the world? I would not do that to you. Who knew I could be shiny, bloated, chinless and lipless all in one picture? I DID, which is why I hate most pictures of me.

I am extra-full of ire today because tomorrow is G-Day II. The horrible gum graft! It! Is! Tomorrow! I have girded myself with a lovely supply of sedatives ("You want to do what to my gums? Yeah...that's fine.") and I wish I could take them now because the thinking! Oh, the thinking. See, don't do this: If you have to get a procedure done, do not go on the Internets and read about other people's experiences with the same procedure. Because, you see, who wants to read about a procedure that was a piece of cake? Nay, instead, freak out as many people as you can by writing about the insanely horrific things that were done to you in the name of grafting. Shit, I didn't even know what to fear until I read this one guy's account of the God-awfulness ("the worst pain I've ever felt!") of getting a shot of Novocain in the roof of his mouth. Oh, shit. I hadn't even thought of that! That is going to SUCK, and it's going to suck TOMORROWWWWWWWWW.

And then! And then! We have two jewelry shows this weekend. Holy mother of God, why does everything have to be this week? I wish I could look forward to it instead of being filled with dental dread.

Just to top off my peachy day, I went to lunch armed with a good book ("Anybody Out There?" by Marian Keyes, who's website diary is fantastic.) and had to sit at a table right next to the table where two of my co-workers were eating. They said hi but did not invite me to join them. I know! These women are not strangers, these are people with whom I've gone to lunch with before! I think they hate me. I actually didn't want to join them (see: good book) but it would've been nice to be asked. So then I sat down all mortified and read the same page three times in a row before I could settle down and relax. Rudeness makes me twitchy.

Ugh, sorry for all the bitchy entries lately, but I write what I know. I've actually been meaning to do a little bike-ride travelogue and I will soon. A while ago Kenny and I went riding on a gorgeous day and took pictures all along the trail. I thought it would be fun to do a whole entry with pictures of part of our ride, just so you guys can see what I see. It's good stuff!

Until then, read this fabulousness: Amblus Asks Palinode

2 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com