You owe me money, sucka.
Thursday, Sept. 08, 2005 @ 3:19 p.m.

What a freaking crappy couple of weeks it's been. Not for me personally, but for a whole lot of hurricane-affected people and animals and the city and damn. Just...damn. It breaks my heart. I don't even know what to say except that my hate for our nation's leader is large and in charge, now more than ever. In related news, my deep love for Harry Connick Jr. and Anderson Cooper has grown exponentially.

Aside from the usual personal donation stuff, Keen Designs has donated a piece as part of the super-excellent Crafters United group that's already raised more than $10,000. Every damn cent goes straight to the Red Cross. So, if you want to do some early holiday shopping for excellent handmade items and also help raise some money, please consider shopping the Crafters United store.

Sorry about the commercial, I just wanted to let you guys know about it.

Okay. now what? Why do I even keep this journal anymore? I feel guilty if I update and then sorry for you guys when I do. I do the same damn things every week and I have no work strife worth mentioning. I'm 100% more interesting when I hate my job, apparently.

I'll skip over the detail about how awesome the weather has been and how much mountain biking has ruled lately. Maybe I'll just tell you about the wicked weekend that this way comes?

So, Friday night Kate and I have agreed to be part of this Second Friday stuff that's basically First Friday's bastard cousin. Second Friday is an attempt to get people to browse galleries and whatnot on an unpopular stretch of road. It's apparently the creation of a righteous asshole who has a gallery full of UGLY. He also cheated my mom by selling her a watch that was supposed to be a Thomas Mann and, um, wasn't. Speaking of cheaters, here's a quick list of people who owe me money:

1997 -I worked in a bar and was befriended by a guy who runs a swanky boutique shop. He "liked the way I took care of my customers" and begged me to come work for him. I told him I wasn't meant for retail and refused. He wouldn't accept that and asked me to try it for a few days, so I did. Typical, he was weird and cold to me during those two days and I was never paid for them. I still give him the stink eye when I see him out and about.

2000- I quit my old neighborhood gym and they debited my account the next month, even though the manager promised I wouldn't be charged. Then he refused to take my calls until I lied about who was on the phone and tricked him into picking up. Sucka. I never got that damn $37 back though and now that asshole works at my current gym. He gets the stink eye as well.

Okay, sorry, where were we? Oh, Friday. Anyway, so this nice woman who owns a salon on the unpopular stretch of road remembered us from an event back in the spring and wants us to set up a mini-booth for the Second Friday. We were so flattered that someone wanted us for a change that we agreed to do it. I'll be surprised if we sell anything at all, but hell. It's only one night a month.

HOWEVER, on Saturday we have to get up at the ass crack of dawn and drive two-ish hours to Loudoun County, VA. (Home of the Loudoun County Dog Shoot! Kidding. It's an old joke and I get in trouble when I try to explain it.) We are doing the First Annual We Don't Know What The Hell We're Doing Craft Show up there and I am leery at best. I'm hoping all those rich Northern Virginians will attend and bring their large wads of DC cash. Rolls of cash, even. We'll see. I'm doubting there will be a lot of crazy there, but there might be some good stories to tell anyway. And then maybe I'll be able to write a non-boring entry.

3 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com