Well! This is just... neat!
Monday, Nov. 01, 2004 @ 3:38 p.m.

In an effort to not scare Schmutzie more than I already have by updating so damn often, let me just assure everyone that everything is OKAY. I know in the past that A Lot of Entries has equaled Job Unhappiness, but this is simply not the case. There just happened to be a lot of annoying pop culture stuff bugging me lately and I needed to get it all out there.

Update, the first: The job is fine. It's lovely. I'm very satisfied with my employer and cannot complain, except about the mail guy who continues to freak me out on a daily basis. (Example: if you happen to be filling up your cup at the water fountain when he walks by expect bizarre and jokey comments like "ARE YOU GONNA DRINK ALL THAT WATER?" or "OH MY GOD, DON'T DRINK THE WATER!!" He makes no sense and gives me the creeps.

Update, the second: God, what a weekend. It was glorious. My friend Ashley jokes that Richmond has "twenty-eight seasons, non-consecutive." This weekend it was summer, only with prettier trees. It was 80 degrees and sunny and hot damn, was it nice. Saturday was a perfect day. In the morning I went to double classes at the gym and then came home and did some spring/summer/fall/whatever cleaning. Then Kate came over and we went to the Bizarre Market, a local flea market thing that's held to raise money for a good cause. It's basically all the alternative-type arty folks who bring stuff like clothes and art and food to sell. Noah had a table so we went to check it out. I bought:

* two loaves of homemade bread for $2.00
* cider and cookies (proceeds go to help retired ponies!)
* two handmade postcards with penguins on them
* a gorgeous necklace - a rectangle of green stained glass in a little frame, hanging from two chains
* the best monkey drawing, ever

Shoppy! Kate and I then drove around with the top down and enjoyed the weather all the way over to the outdoor mall, where I bought knee-socks. Okay. Saturday night Kenny and I carved pumpkins. Please note that the big one is menacing and the little one is scared. My dad did that every year so I continued the tradition:

Kenny and I also tested out all the candy I bought. I only bought candy that I like or that amused me because I didn't know how many trick-or-treaters we'd actually get and also, who cares what kids want. I bought Reese's Sticks, Mounds, Almond Joy and Dem Bones - these funny tangy candies shaped like bones (You can make a whole skeleton out of them!) Do kids even like Mounds or Almond Joy anymore? Who the fuck cares, Kenny and I do, and that's what really matters.

On Sunday K and I rode our mountain bikes all over the woods and it was really challenging because every leaf in the world had fallen on the trail which a) makes the ground slidey and b) hides things you might like to know about, like holes and rocks. It was fun though and we were pretty much the only ones out there except for some young kids on $4,000 bikes. Brrrrrrats. My legs started complaining after an hour and a half so we went home and ate some candy. Candy was kind of the theme for the weekend. Anyway, yada yada, eight trick-or-treaters, bedtime, Sunday was over. Wah.

Okay monkeys, if you're a US citizen I fully expect you to vote tomorrow (for Kerry!) because if you don't you have no right to complain about the amazing amount of CRAP that's been going down lately. Remember: Every time you vote Republican, God kills a kitten. Please, think of the kittens.

4 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com