Pretend Like This is Shiny New Information
Wednesday, Sept. 10, 2003 @ 10:46 p.m.

Apparently I hate myself, because I'm watching Rachael Ray's $40 a Day. Why do I watch this show when all I want to do it stick a fork in my ear so I don't have to hear her grating voice? And yet, I watch. She just ordered fish tacos because they "sounded light". Yes they do, until you watch the fish being batter-dipped, deep fried and covered in sour cream. Yummy, maybe. Light? Not so much.

I love watching The Food Network though (except for Emeril. Die, Emeril, die!) even if the food is something I don't even eat. Hell, Alton Brown can make steak interesting and I haven't eaten beef in over two years.

Huh, I feel like I've written all this before. I know I've bitched about Rachel Ray, that's a given. Hatred for Emeril? Worth repeating. Bitching about food-related things? Done it. You know what's good? Chocolate-covered gummi bears. You scoff, but it's true.

**********

I really don't have anything new to complain about*. I've been so excited and happy about the house that all the usual irritations have faded a little. Kenny, who'd struck up a conversation with the current owner of the house when it was first going on the market, rode his bike by tonight and talked to her again. Apparently she's overjoyed that we got the house and love it so much. She really wanted a nice couple to move in and I think we qualify. I'm so excited!

I think the best part about the house is the change it's bringing. Things have been unchanging for so long that I'd forgotten how invigorating it can be to have something really major to look forward to. It's going to be stressful for sure, but damn, I needed something to change for the better because my job situation sure doesn't seem to be going anywhere.

Do you know that my one year anniversary at the loan center will be October 2nd? How the freaking hell did that happen? If I'd known I'd be working here for a year I would've cried and cried. I'm starting to get annoyed by how much like a real job it's gotten to be, only without the benefits and paid time off.

Remember that other interview I had? The one with the slightly bitchy boss who said she was going to have to "think about it" at the end of my second interview? Yeah, I guess she's still thinking because that was a month ago and I've not heard a peep. I got a weird vibe off her anyway. Also, one of the women who worked there was desperately trying to get a job at the other place I interviewed, so maybe that should tell me something. Hmph.

**********

Memo to the Woman At The Gym Who Works In Marketing And Said She'd Let Me Know If She Heard About Any Jobs:

Thank you so much for telling me about the two marketing assistants you recently hired. Thanks also for mentioning that they only had a few years experience and were making a better salary than I've ever made, ever. Thanks also for assuming (ass. you. me.) I'd already found a job and for asking if I was still temping "by choice". Yes, fool, I'm temping because it's such a FUCKING PONY RIDE SLIP 'N SLIDE ICE CREAM CAKE PICNIC. Who doesn't aspire to be a temp? Low pay, no benefits and no respect? Sign me up! For a year! Sheesh. People, I swear.

**********

Bonus Loan Center Gem:

Ha! An announcement was made today over the loud speaker that members of the Dress Code Committee were to have a dress code meeting tomorrow. How does one get on the Dress Code Committee? Who even knew there was such a thing? There IS no dress code! Maybe the committee is all about making everyone dress like complete whores, right down to the jingly ankle bracelet and stiletto-heeled Lucite mules? Maybe everyone is going to be required to wear high-waisted Lee jeans, Disney themed sweatshirts and scrunchies? Ooh, can we coordinate it so the woman all wear one-shouldered tops without a bra and the men can belt their khakis up way too high so you can actually see a package outline? Hot damn, This Dress Code Committee is going to be awesome, I can tell already.

**********

*This translates to: I'll just complain about old things some more.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com