Laborious Day.
Sunday, Aug. 31, 2003 @ 11:21 p.m.

Howdy kids. It's Sunday night and nearly bedtime but yay, holiday tomorrow! Even if it's unpaid! Whatever!

My weekend's been kind of a bummer. I've had this horrible sore throat/sinus thing going on and haven't been to the gym since Wednesday, which makes me feel gelatinous and blob-like. I've been compensating by eating everything in my path that isn't healthy. I've fallen off the health wagon and bounced a few times before settling in a ditch this week.

There's a bike race tomorrow that I really wanted to do but I don't think it's going to happen. Even though my throat is feeling better, it's been pouring down rain. That just so figures. What else but rain before a race? Hell, I might do it anyway. Nothing like a little suffering to make a holiday worthwhile.

In other news, we're not buying the cute little house we looked at yesterday. It was adorable, but also tiny and it had a few expensive problems. (Like, gas heat, in which all the heat for the whole house comes out of one huge grate in the middle of the hall floor? Wha??)

Today Kenny said he'd been told about a house on the northside that was only $96,000. We were dubious, but went to take a look anyway. We found the address posted on the fence, pulled up front and gasped. It was a glorious 1930's house with a low over-slung porch and a guest house/garage around back. It was huge! How was this possible? Did it perhaps lack something important- like indoor plumbing? Kenny got out of the car and walked down the driveway a bit. That's when I noticed the address half-hidden by vines on the opposite end of the fence. 1915. 1915? The listing was for 1913. I looked back at Kenny who was walking back up the driveway with a funny look on his face. I started laughing as I realized what he'd just figured out. The guest house was for sale! The GUEST HOUSE. All four rooms of it! Hahahahaha. We're total suckers, I know.

**********

In happy girly news, I've lately been obsessing about this stupid pair of expensive Blue Cult jeans (like the ones that Paltrow girl wears) but I cannot spend $120 for a pair of jeans. Anyway, today I went to Marshalls and found this pair that's practically identical for $30. The beautiful part? They're Jill Stuart and originally cost $140! Isn't that insane? Who's the bargain queen? Why, that's me!

Okay, this has been a totally lame entry, but I promise to bring you some excellent loan center stories soon and also a few words from Work Friend, who knows about this journal and has been sworn under the Cow Bell Spirit oath to keep quiet about it. Haw.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com