Updates for my little monkeys.
Saturday, Aug. 16, 2003 @ 11:35 p.m.

The Weekend

Hahaha. Weekend. Ahh, Riiiiight. I'm going to have to go ahead and ask you to come in on Saturday...
Yes, I did. I worked in the loan center today. Time-and-a-half, that's why. I was only there three hours, but it was just so wrong. It was so wrong that when I got in the car this morning to drive to there, I went three blocks in the direction of the gym (where I normally go on Saturday morning) before I realized I was going the wrong way.

"He says we're going the wrong way..."
"Oh, he's drunk. How would he know where we're going?"

But, OH MY GOD, people. I saw Milton wearing shorts. He wasn't just wearing shorts, he was wearing baggy cargo shorts with hiking boots. I know! Just seeing that made coming in on Saturday worth it. Seriously, screw time-and-a-half. Milton in shorts? Priceless.

The House

The first house we looked at? A dump, but we expected that. At first, when we walked in, it was really promising (fireplace, hardwood floors) but then, damn. The kitchen was tiny and shabby and generally an awkward space. The basement was like something out of Silence of the Lambs, complete with creepy crawl-space type rooms and puddles of standing water. Upstairs was okay (except for the wall-to-wall carpeting- ugh) but the bathroom was horrible and tiny and would need to have everything replaced. Oh! The furnace! It looked original. Like, 1929 original. Seriously, it was antique and we both looked at each other with horror. Can you imagine getting parts for something like that? Eek. So we keep looking.

We spent a lot of time after work yesterday driving through the neighborhoods that our realtor's search pulled up, and damn. We have a choice of 'hood or redneck. One neighborhood we drove through got creepier and creepier as we went along and I classified it as "Redneck, with a side of white supremacist and maybe just a touch of inbred creepy." Basically, the kind of folks who might be keeping a leather-clad gimp in the basement, if you know what I'm saying. We, uh, won't be moving in.

In happier news, we did find two houses for sale that we're crazy about, so there's hope yet. We'll see.

The Second Interview

The second interview went okay. I met with the owner and another woman who works there. The owner was a tough cookie, bordering on bitchy. She said a couple of things that stung a little bit, but I think she was sort of testing me. I stayed calm and didn't say anything stupid. I think. I also came up with some intelligent-ish questions. (Thank you, skibigsky!) Unfortunately, she went a little wishy-washy towards the end and said she'd have to think about what she wanted to do. Ugh. I should hear back sometime next week. I was up late that night writing three separate damn thank-you notes. I really, really hate writing interview thank-you notes.

I also set a second interview with the other place for Monday. I'm curious to see what comes out of it.

The Loan Center

Aw man. Wednesday and Thursday, they announced that bigwigs were coming to the loan center, so everyone was asked to dress up. Who knew that dressing up in the loan center means a) churchwear ala 1989 or b) dress like a complete whore. Really, it was a stunning array of floral tie-back dresses and asymmetrical miniskirts. navy Easy Spirit pumps or clear plastic stilettos? You decide! The men weren't much better. One fine fellow wore black pants, a black button-down shirt, a white patterned tie and white snakeskin shoes. I said Goddamn.

An aww, I don't think I've told you guys about the supply room guy. The supply room guy is a tiny, wizened old man with a foreign accent that I haven't been able to place. He's funny in so many ways, but mostly because of the way he completely rules the supply room. Example: Work Friend asked if he had any gel pens and he said "No! No gel pens!" Instead, he gave her a sample of each kind of pen and a piece of paper on which to try them out. As he did this, he leaned over and whispered "I not do this for everyone. Just you." Hee. He is RULER of the supplies!

Okay kids, it's late and I'm sleepy. One more thing- I finally, finally updated my reading challenge page! Whoot for me!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com