Every Flavor Entry.
Friday, Jun. 20, 2003 @ 3:33 p.m.

Friday! All day! Right, and also, on! It's been a decent week, what with the lack of workplace supervision and tasks. I officially ran out of work stuff to do at about 9:45am. It's now around 2pm and I just spent the last hour or two creating banner ads:

Yay for projects!

Yesterday, I took an extra long lunch and went to the mall, just because I could. It's not like I had a towering stack of tasks to attend to or anything, right? Besides, I didn't have a crazy good time, because the mall near work is weirdly depressing in a badly lit southern redneck kind of way. The food court is bleak and everyone walks around like sad shopping zombies. Not terribly stimulating, but the Victoria's Secret Semi-Annual-Let's-Get-Rid-Of-The-Weird-Crap-Sale bins aren't all picked over like at the other mall. It's really all about priorities, but I digress.

Today, I am working (ahem) through lunch because lunch was provided. You know what that means, right? Fat! Laden! Starch! And! Also! Sugar!

Today's free lunch menu: deli cold cuts and cheese, bread, potato salad, cookies, and soda. Hahahaha. I had a cheese sandwich and managed to scandalize several people by snagging some of the lettuce garnish as well. "Vegetables? What does she want with those? Oh my God, she's going to eat the garnish?" I will say, the cookies were damn good. Mmmm...starchy bloat...

**********************

Blah Blah Blah Bike Race.

So, the weekend's looking like it's going to be fairly exciting. Tomorrow is the Xterra Urban Assault Mountain Bike Race, which is a part of the Nissan Xterra East Championship. We're going to ride downtown in the morning to watch some of the race. I'd thought about entering it, but the race I really want to do is on Sunday and I cannot kill myself two days in a row. Plus, the course for the Urban Assault is really, really, really hard. Maybe next year.

Sunday is the Camp Hilbert race and I hope to do well because this may be my last race as a Beginner. You can only win so many times before you start getting the stink-eye from the other competitors, so if I do well, I'll move up to Sport class in the fall where I'll be beaten soundly again and again. And again.

I'm looking forward to the race, but I'm also a little worried. We've gotten a LOT of rain lately (note to sky: stop it directly.) and this course has deep ravine drop-ins. To ride a ravine drop-in, you just tip your bike into the 8 foot drop, then hope you have enough momentum to swoop up the other side. When it's dry this is no problem, but when it wet, holy slippery crap. I don't fear falling so much as getting stuck in the bottom. There's really no way to climb out, so you more or less have to wait for someone to pull you out. Very embarrassing and very likely to happen to me. Wish me luck?

Enough with the bikes? Okay then, moving on.

**********************

You Like Me! You Like Me!

Despite my insistence at complaining about stupidly boring things like randomly over-sized Ziploc bags, I've somehow managed to pick up quite a few readers. Hi y'all! So, now that I have a readership of more than two people, I'm going to open up the floor to nosy questions*. (Ahem from people who don't already know me in real life, so peanut gallery friends, please be removing minds from gutters. Thank you and good night.) If you have any nosy questions for me, drop me an email or put it in my guest book and I'll answer them in up-coming journal entries. Bring it, babies.

*This idea was blatantly ripped off from Gwen, who I hope won't mind.

**********************

Bertie Botts Every Flavor Links.

This is why I'm not a road cyclist. That's Lance Armstrong, by the way.

If you enjoy dirty "Manhattan-centric" gossip like I do, check out gawker.com. There's a great article about the site here.

This Harry Potter kids seems awfully popular.

More classic Pamie. Here's an entry written by her cats, Cal and Taylor.
(via the lovely Luxolive)

Happy Birthday tomorrow to my sister Claudia!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com