Like A Bitey Little Kitten.
Friday, Jun. 06, 2003 @ 3:45 p.m.

Hi there! Howdy! Friday at work is like a little kitten- I want to pet it, but it's biting me with razor-sharp little kitten teeth. But hey, it's cute! Awww. Ow! Ow ow ow. Yay for Friday. Yay also for analogies that make no sense.

Things that rule about this weekend:

- My immediate plan upon leaving work at 4:30 is to go see my aunt who's just arrived from California. I haven't seen her in three years! She's very cool and it my favoritest (and only) aunt.

- After that, my second-immediate plan is to pick up some chocolate-covered gummi bears from the swanky chocolate shop around the corner. Yes, there is a chocolate shop around the corner. Rules, I know.

Then, I shall proceed to enjoy my weekend with added bonus day off! I took Monday off and I'm so happy I could cry. As a bonus bonus, I'll be missing the monthly "Spirit Awards" by not working on Monday. I didn't even plan that, it just worked out! Yay! And finally, as a bonus bonus bonus, Boss Lady will be out on vacation all next week. Bonus! Bonus! Bonus! I feel like a winner.

Other plans this weekend include:

- cleaning the house in a blind panic because said aunt wants to visit.

- a bike ride on the day when it's not torrentially raining (hi, Saturday! You suck!)

- singing the Bumble Bee Tuna song to my niece

- some other stuff TBA.

*****************************

Avalanche or Roadblock

Yesterday after work, Kenny and I decided to go for a mountain bike ride. The trails are on the other side of the river, so we have to ride about 6 miles of road to get there. I hate, hate, hate riding my bike on the road. I'd make a terrible roadie. I hate it because of cars, or rather, because of the fools driving the cars.

Last night? Almost got hit twice. Both times, we had the right of way, but because we ride defensively, no one got hurt. In my experience, most of the motorist/cyclist incidences have been caused by inattention and cell phones. If you're driving, you shouldn't be chatting. It's that simple. Put the phone down and pay the fuck attention because if you hit a cyclist, they get hurt, not you.

Now, to be fair, many motorists are great and careful and good about giving the right of way if it's ours. Also, I know that not all cyclists are careful and some don't follow the rules of the road. However, we do and the cars that almost hit us don't.

Take last night- we were riding slowly on the sidewalk because the street had fast moving traffic and no bike path. We crossed a small intersection and while we were in the middle of the cross walk, an SUV takes a left turn right into us, nearly hitting Kenny. Oh, he saw us all right- I was still in the middle of the cross walk and made eye contact with him as he sneered and aimed for me. Nice, right? If I hadn't braked and pulled back quickly, he would've hit me. On purpose. Dude, who the fuck does that?

I yell at him, but I was so outraged and scared that what came out of my mouth was along the lines of "Wha? Hey! HEY! Why... Hey! The hell?!!" Nice comeback to someone who just tried to kill me, right? I think a succinct "Fuck you motherfucker!" might have worked better, but you never know who's packing heat in this fine town of mine.

The other driver who almost ran us over simply wasn't paying any attention even though we were directly in front of the parking lot space he was pulling out of. Dude? Look directly forward. Directly in front of your vehicle. See? There we are!

Ever wonder why cyclists wear such bright colors? That's why. I remember once when we were at my dad's house, and he started in on a rant about cyclists in their "clown suits" taking up too much room on the road. We both sat there speechless and gawping. Dad, uh, Dad? That's US you're complaining about! I couldn't believe it.

I could go on and on about the proper way to pass a cyclist, why you should never honk your horn at one, etc. etc., but I think this article has some great info on motorist/cyclist safety. If passing cyclists makes you nervous, read it, please. For me?

PS. Wildlife spotted on this bike ride: one angry and hissing turtle, and one small brown bunny rabbit. Aw.

*****************************

Oh Linky Linky!

Did you know there's a website devoted entirely to David Bowie's "area"? Yes, indeedy, all your dreams fulfilled with one small link.

There's a Big Lebowski fest? For real? I'm a fan of the Coen brothers, but 'The Big Lebowski' was probably my least favorite of their movies. Why can't there be a 'Raising Arizona' fest? That would be worth traveling for.

What kind of temp are you? Take this handy quiz and find out. What? You're not a temp? What, is that some kind of insult or something? You think you're too good to be a temp? Come over here and let me temp your face in! Not so smart now, are we? What? Oh, yeah. Take the quiz. Or not. Whatever.

Haven't you always wanted to know what your phone number spells?

Have good weekends my little hissing turtles!

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com