Here Comes A Bikini Whale!
Tuesday, May. 27, 2003 @ 4:00 p.m.

Lord almighty, today sucks. My weekend was good, though, despite the lack of bike-related activities. My bike has become a shiny object on which I bark my shins when I'm in the laundry lean-to. (Really, calling it a room would be pushing it, as it's really an enclosed, off-camber second floor balcony. It also leaks profusely. So very top drawer. Anyway.)

I spent the weekend eating, sleeping, shopping, hanging out with friends and family and going to the gym. K and I also watched videos: Adaptation (excellent), Auto Focus (eh) and Eat Drink Man Woman (lovely). It was a lovely three days, torrential rain aside.

Yesterday afternoon the clouds parted for a brief few hours, so Kenny and I decided to plant some tomato plants* in what amounted to a rice paddy-like garden plot. Kenny almost got the tiller thingy stuck in the mud and then, standing in mud up to his ankles, he planted the tomatoes plants with the vague hope that they would thrive in the mud. I helped by watching.

*(Tomatoes! Real tomatoes! I'd almost forgotten!)

**************************

Watch out for that piranha!

So now I'm back at work and I've got that horrible soul-draining malaise thing going on. I don't want to be here so much that I've felt like crying all day. Also, for a change, it's gray and raining today. What else?

Things did get better very briefly when I got in my car to go to lunch. There's a radio show at 1:00pm called History 101, where they pick a year and play two songs, then give a little background on them. Today's year was 1980 and the first song was "Rock Lobster" by the B-52's. Hee! You can't listen to the B-52's and not be cheered up.

Hearing it immediately transported back to the late 80's, when I danced to "Rock Lobster" at the underage dance club every weekend. No matter how cool you were trying to be, everyone joined in and danced wildly to Rock Lobster and then wilted slowly to the floor when Fred sang "DOOOWN, DOOWNNN....". Punks, goth kids, metalheads, rockers and arty types, all in a sweaty heap on the floor together, until the music started up again. Good times for real.

The second song they played was "Brass In Pocket" by the Pretenders, which brought another memory, this one from my freshman year of college. I spent the entire year crushing on this one guy and spent many quarters playing "Brass In Pocket" on the jukebox at The Village Cafe, where we all hung out drinking coffee and being (deservedly) abused by the waitrons. It's such a wistfully hopeful song, and silly 18-year-old me thought it summed up my wistfully hopeful crush-feelings perfectly. Aww.

**************************

Book Stuff.

I've started on a couple of books from my challenge list! Go me! Currently I'm reading My Antonia by Willa Cather, which luxolive recommended to me. Why have I never read this before? It's wonderful and has amazing descriptions and very alive characters. I loved the "Little House" series when I was a kid and this fulfills a more grown-up love of the pioneer days. Thanks luxolive!

I'm also reading The Blood Doctor by Barbara Vine, which my sister Claudia recommended. I'm only a chapter or two in, but it promises to be just as engrossing as the other Vine books I've read. I love a long, involved book.

**************************

Quit working, start clicking.

Hahaa, Homewrecker's Home and Garden. How appropriate for us.

Mmm...tomatoes. I want to make Alton Brown's Stuffed Tomatoes when our mad crop comes in.

Reading Rainbow is about to be canceled! This is so wrong. Poor Lavar.

Snort. Misdials May Have Cost Clay 'Idol' Title. I especially like this part: "So does Clay really deserve the title? A Fox spokesman says Fox can't be responsible for people who dial the wrong number."

Michael Jackson is 'ticking financial time bomb' . Hot damn. I'm really not surprised, considering that Vegas shopping spree on the Bashir television interview.

0 chatty monkeys

last
next
archives
newest
random!
email
notes
profile
reading
links
Keen Designs
Amblus Loves Bikes
Craft Mafia Blog
freshhell
skibigsky
captvfirefly
Smartypants
mayapple
emiloo
schmutzie
legalbeagle
lasvegasliz
gem-chan
Essaywriter
xnavygrrl
rs536-2000
harri3tspy
smedindy
www.flickr.com

design
diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com